Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Raised Bed Cover and a Couple of Crows January 11, 2010

The uncharacteristically deep and long freeze Seattle endured in December subjected winter veggie gardens to a real beating. Many unprotected plants, including some that were hurriedly swaddled in floating row cover, did not survive. Even some carefully shielded by a pro gardener under the warming embrace of a hoop house just couldn’t hack it after days in the 20sF or lower. This was one mean frost!

That’s why, when I saw this plastic tent-like structure in a parking strip recently, I wondered if its contents had made it through okay.

Hoop house for winter greens

Looks like it might be a pretty easy DIY project, just a few lengths of PVC and some heavy-duty plastic. I wonder if the low and compact shape, as compared with a hoop house, trapped warm air inside more effectively and helped to keep things alive? The lettuce seems to have survived:

Lettuce through hoop house cover

Are the crows just decorative or do they deter potential pilferers? I took them as a warning and didn’t poke my camera inside for a closer look.

Crow guards for raised bed

Later, some real corvids were spotted on a house’s rooftop. They like to look in rain gutters for tasty tidbits.

Crows on roof

 

6 Responses to “Raised Bed Cover and a Couple of Crows”

  1. blackbird Says:

    I love the crows- maybe I need some of those at my house? The real ones certainly keep busy flicking leaves over looking for treats.

  2. Jen Says:

    Definitely taking notes since one of my resolutions is to set myself up with a floating row cover this year. I feel so bad – not just for the veggie gardeners but for the people down south who have lost so many plants to frost this year!

  3. Grace Says:

    Hi Karen~~ You’re darn tootin’ that was a nasty freeze. I had a bunch of small hardy fuchsias on my deck, close to the house for protection, supposedly. I think they’re toast. The small glass of water I put just outside the door was frozen for, I can’t remember how many days. This tent/cloche looks like it was more successful than my efforts. I love the crows too. I love their menacing whimsy. Great post as always!

  4. Amanda Says:

    At least it wasn’t a murder of crows! I think they say 1 for sorrow, 2 for joy. 3 for girls and 4 for boys. 5 for silver 6 for gold and 7 for a secret never to be told?

  5. Catherine Says:

    One day I need to try making something like that for one of our raised beds. It would be fun to still have some lettuce growing.
    Our town has so many Crows here now it’s gotten creepy.

  6. Megan Says:

    I find crows fascinating. I’ve been hearing stories lately, that crows are able to recognize different humans, and if there’s someone they don’t like, they are able to warn their crow friends. I don’t know what could be done to piss them off, but I’m careful to be friendly to the crows just in case.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.