Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Passalongiflora July 15, 2010

Filed under: community,flora — greenwalks @ 8:58 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Do your neighbors garden? If so, do you share plants with them? I have found that I often have plants to spare, nothing too special, but if someone asks about it and I have extras, I try to pot up a few and bring them over. Since I have so many self-sowers in my wild and currently quite unkempt garden, folks are actually doing me a favor by taking some of the spreaders off my hands. Recent donations have included Erigeron and lavender, as well as some leftover tomatoes from my mom’s seed-grown stash.

Sometimes it works the other way, too. My next-door neighbor is a shy fellow – we haven’t exchanged more than a few sentences in the years we’ve lived a stone’s throw away. But he is a gardener, and sometimes when he’s dividing plants, he’ll put some out in the alley with a “Free” sign. Last spring, he tossed a big pile of tall daylilies out there and they stayed for months until I finally rescued a few. I didn’t have a great spot for them but I felt sorry for the poor plants (You do that too, don’t you? Feel sorry for plants like they were sentient beings?). I didn’t know what color they’d be, but decided to just be surprised. One is that medium rusty-brown that I’ve admired in other people’s gardens, and the other is a glowing lemon yellow, not fancy but nice in the somewhat overgrown and partly shaded spot where I planted it:

Yellow daylily

Trading plants with other gardeners is one of the things I most enjoy about gardening, even though I have probably received far more than I have given! I’ll just have to keep trying to catch up.

 

7 Responses to “Passalongiflora”

  1. Most of my first garden was made up of “passalong plants”…a different kind of “collector’s garden”: collecting mementos as much as plants. It was very pretty, too.

  2. Bonnie Story Says:

    I got a huge assortment of bulbs and plants from my friend Donna when we moved up here in 2007. Her garden was crammed full of plants and it helped her to get rid of some divisions, just as you said. Wow, what a great break that was for me. My daylillies, circle flower, roses, mint, so much… It’s been great having stuff to watch grow without having had to spend tons of $$. Like they say, “first year perennials sleep, second year they creep and third year they leap” and this is the “leaping” year for the things I planted in 2007. It’s been a great year here for the plants. Besides the tomato plants that is…

  3. Gardeners are such a generous people. It never ceases to amaze me. I need remember that sometimes when someone asks about a plant it really means….’can I have a cutting?’…I forget that.

  4. Grace Says:

    Hi Karen, What a nice man, sharing his daylilies. Now they’ll hold special meaning to you as opposed to the random nursery purchase. I wish more of my neighbors gardened.

  5. Most of my “passalongiflora” (clever title!) are dear to me because of their origins. Like Grace, I wish more of my immediate neighbors gardened, but I’ve been given many delightful plants from friends and family. I’m in my third summer with many passed-along perennials, so like Bonnie, they’re leaping. Next spring, I’ll be passing some of them along to continue the gardening karma.

  6. Racquel Says:

    I’ve been lucky over the years to have many generous gardening neighbors to share free plants with me and vice versa. That Lily was a pretty pass-a-long. :)

  7. gardeningasylum Says:

    Some of my very best plants are precious passalongs. including a couple of sweet daylilies. Just don’t pass that gooseneck loosestrife this way!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.