Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

They’re Baaaaaaack July 29, 2010

Filed under: fauna — greenwalks @ 9:09 pm
Tags: , ,

Nope, not the squirrels. I haven’t seen them in a while, although I’m sure they’ll be around once the sunflower seeds are almost-mature.

They walk by night… no, not zombies!

Last guess. Here, I’ll give you a clue:

Beheaded birdbath

Yes, my back is killing me from hefting that stupid concrete birdbath top back onto the base from its flipped position on the ground. Same thing happened last summer around the time the neighbors’ plums started ripening. Hm… any guesses?

 

11 Responses to “They’re Baaaaaaack”

  1. Ginger Says:

    Heh. Several weeks ago, as the cherries on our tree were ripening, we were rudely awakened at 4:30 in the morning by an entire murder of crows going crazy at the coon, just sitting halfway up the tree munching away. Argh!

  2. It’s got to be those cute little masked bandits?

  3. Ruthnne Says:

    oooh – raccoons! Sorry for the trouble they made but happy that it’s not the result of the other “r” word (r*ts). I know we have many of those raccoons around.

  4. Yup. Those little furry bandits are very likely the perpetrators.
    I never understood why they invariably overturned any container of water, but I remember waking up on a summer night to the sound of a family of racoons slurping (literally) ripe plums from our Italian prune plum tree.

    Wait until your neighbor’s ripe fruit is all over with, THEN upright your birdbath. I know those things are heavy – I have one!

  5. Bonnie Story Says:

    Oy! Coons!! Oh boy, they are really a force to be reckoned with. I agree, leave that heavy birdbath on the ground and fill it or just leave it dry… ’till the next big thing passes by and they move along to a nice dog dish or trash can or some such. Cheers Karen! Bonnie

  6. Laura Says:

    Fun with wild life! Hope they don’t kill your back this season!

  7. Living with wildlife is a challenge. There’s a reason Mom Nature made them so cute.

  8. Megan Says:

    Sneaky little buggers. It must be quite a surprise when their stand gives way under them. Or do raccoons jump? They’re cool looking critters, but such bold bandits, I wouldn’t want to be outside when they come around.

  9. I hate it when that happens… its pretty painful getting it back up there! I’ve actually submerged part of the base to keep it from tipping.
    I gotta say… I love this blog and the design. Keep up the good work!

  10. Racquel Says:

    That is eerie…I have one of those heavy things too, not fun to move. :)

  11. Jeez. I’d have guessed an overweight bird.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.