Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Prima post August 9, 2008

Filed under: gardening — greenwalks @ 4:17 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I wonder how many blogs are launched with a sentence containing the words, “I never thought I would be one of those people who writes a blog…” Probably a lot. In any case, welcome to the latest one. Here are some things I hope this blog will be:

  • a place to look at photos of cool parking strip gardens in Seattle and wherever else I can find them
  • inspiration for folks who want to rip out their boring old matted grass or hideous groundcover on the street and plant something more interesting
  • a forum for sharing stories and tips about tilling that narrow patch of ground between the street and the sidewalk
  • a discussion of street gardening philosophies (whom does it belong to: the city? the gardener? the neighborhood? passersby? all of the above?)

Here’s what it won’t be:

  • me bragging about my adorable garden and telling you how to make one just like it (trust me, once you see photos, you will understand)
  • Master Gardener-level plant advice (I’m just an enthusiast, not an expert)
  • a lot of off-topic posts about my life

So, welcome to Greenwalks, let’s make the world a greener place! – Karen

 

Leave a Reply

