Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Where is my Hebe’s ‘Red edge’? August 26, 2008

I spotted this at a plant sale last year and plunked it into the parking strip without knowing much about how to care for it. Turns out it hates heavy soils, and there a clay underlayer out there, so I might have to move it. Other than that, it seems to be a great pick for a parking strip, since it doesn’t need much water and seems pretty immune to plant diseases.

Hebe 'Red Edge'

Valerie Easton, my favorite gardening writer, has a nice piece about Hebes, including this type.

I’m just kind of wondering… where is the ‘Red edge’ it’s supposed to have? Looks pretty much all green to me. Maybe there’s the tiniest hint of pinkishness around the leaf edges, but that’s about it. I kind of expected something more dramatic. I wonder if anyone knows of something to do about this?

 

4 Responses to “Where is my Hebe’s ‘Red edge’?”

  1. Donna Says:

    Some plants get pinker when the temp drops. Perhaps there is not enough light.

  2. greenwalks Says:

    Hi Donna – thanks for the hint. This is planted in full blasting sun in my parking strip, so light doesn’t seem like it could be the culprit. Maybe temp, I will try to be sure to look at it again when fall arrives for good. Thanks! – Karen

  3. Cynthia Says:

    What beautiful foliage that plant has. I hope it starts showing its red edge as that would be stunning to see.

  4. greenwalks Says:

    Hi Cynthia –

    Yeah, I hope it does too. Here’s a link to what I thought it would look like:

    http://www.findmeplants.co.uk/plant-hebe-1184.aspx

    I’m starting to wonder if it was mis-labeled…

    – Karen


Leave a Reply

