Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Crows Are Smart (Duh) August 27, 2008

Is there anyone gardening in the US who does not see crows on an almost daily basis? The ones that live near us seem to mostly steer clear of the garden, favoring the trees, power lines and street for their food-searching and head-cawing-off business. I mostly only notice them in the spring, when they are menacing the other birds’ babies and the Stellar’s Jays set up a gigantic protective racket in response.

The New York Times had an article recently about a University of Washington scientist who has studied crows for 20 years and has all kinds of proof about how smart they are. You can see the link here. Apparently they can recognize and remember human faces!?!

Here’s a pensive one I saw today next to a parking strip garden in NE Seattle. Wonder if s/he was memorizing my face for future reference?

Crow & Parking Strip Garden

Anyone got a “smart crow” story to share?

 

4 Responses to “Crows Are Smart (Duh)”

  1. Nancy Bond Says:

    They are crafty birds, and apparently, can be quite easily trained. To do what, I’m not sure. 🙂

  2. There is a family of crows that lives outside my window in some poplars. The baby crows make the most dreadful noise at 5 am. It could well be the most annoying noise known to all mankind! The other day a whole swarm of crows flew into the trees. I counted around 20 of them and they were all squawking wildly. Then they all flew away together. It was a strange sight to see!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I like the name of the gnome book you mentioned!

    Cheers.

  3. I love crows – I like to watch them walking around, inspecting things – when they see something interesting, the feathers on their head rise up a bit.

    Thank you for visiting my blog!

  4. greenwalks Says:

    Nancy –

    We have a family friend who trained a flock of crows to follow her car around. Pretty wacky!

    ++++

    THG –

    Yeah, the early morning cawing is pretty insane here too. I wonder if there is a time of year (hatching out??) when it is more common – I feel like I haven’t heard them do it in a while.

    ++++

    HappyM –

    They are pretty fascinating to watch. We can get really used to them but they are a part of our ecosystem for better or for worse. Quite the adaptable ones, they are!

    – Karen


Leave a Reply

