Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Seattle Tilth Harvest Fair is Coming August 27, 2008

If you live in or near Seattle and have a little time free on Saturday, September 6, head over to the Good Shepherd Center in Wallingford for Seattle Tilth’s annual Harvest Fair. Get all the details here.

Goats, bees and chickens to visit, winter veggie starts to buy, a parade at noon, flower wreaths to make, music, organic gardening clinics, compost advice, a farmers’ market, tons of stuff for kids, and even more than that. Rain or shine, it’s a great event.

This family got talked into wearing some of the Tilth staff’s costumes last year. I particularly admired the guy who was willing to be a giant carrot for the parade.

Seattle Tilth Harvest Fair Parade 2007

I go every year and always come home with fun stuff to over-winter – rainbow chard, herbs, leeks, broccoli, etc. and all of it goes in the parking strip. Here’s my haul from last year.

Homeward Bound Plants

Catch it if you can!

 

5 Responses to “Seattle Tilth Harvest Fair is Coming”

  1. Philip Says:

    I have had just the best time looking through your blog.
    I am impressed with the parking strret gardens. those tomatoes in the parking strip are awesome.
    I am glad to have found your site!

  2. Looks like a great haul you got last year. The fair looks like a fun place to go. Thanks for visiting my blog today. I looked through a few of your posts & enjoyed myself. 🙂 I will be adding you to my blogroll!

  3. greenwalks Says:

    Thanks to both of you for visiting and supporting! Just starting out with all of this, so I extra appreciate all visitors and comments.

  4. […] lettuces that I bought at the Seattle Tilth spring plant sale in May (always a zoo, the fall Harvest Fair is much mellower) and that didn’t go into the ground until mid-July (I had forgotten them, […]

  5. greenwalks Says:

    Philip –

    Aw geez, thanks! I love your blog too, your posts are so well-researched and beautifully written.

    ++++

    PGL –

    Thanks for the add, and for all your subsequent visits and comments. I truly appreciate it and enjoy reading your daily posts as well!

    ++++


Leave a Reply

