Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Green Salad August 29, 2008

It’s time to go cut the last of the summer lettuce before it bolts and gets bitter. Sometimes I have a hard time harvesting the end of it, because I just love the way it looks.

I’ve had great luck with lettuce and arugula in the parking strip, they have pretty low nutrient needs so it fits my lazy lack of fertilizing ways to grow them.

This green oak leaf lettuce was part of a six-pack of mixed slightly-exotic lettuces that I bought at the Seattle Tilth spring plant sale in May (always a zoo, the fall Harvest Fair is much mellower) and that didn’t go into the ground until mid-July (I had forgotten them, poor things, but they forgave me and grew well anyway).

Green Oak Leaf Lettuce & Marigold

 

6 Responses to “Green Salad”

  1. How attractive the lettuce foliage looks!

    But how did you keep away slugs?

    Lucy Corrander
    PICTURES JUST PICTURES

  2. Megan Says:

    I’ve started noticing how ornamental lettuce looks lately, this is a lovely combination. I’d have a hard time cutting it, too.

  3. greenwalks Says:

    Lucy – the slugs seemed to stay away (actually, I have more of a problem with snails), not sure why. Maybe they have found more tasty stuff to eat? I do also sprinkle Sluggo sometimes (iron phosphate, safe for other animals, organic), but didn’t seem to need it there.

    Megan – I often leave some lettuce to bolt and just enjoy the colors and shapes that occur!

  4. PGL Says:

    I love the leaves of this lettuce. Very frilly & ornamental. Great compliment to your marigolds

  5. Gail Says:

    Thank you for posting on Clay and Limestone. The joy of asking
    folks to tell me how they named their blogs is that I have new blogs to visit and new folks to meet! Your concept is wonderful…and who wouldn’t love a Salinger reference! The lettuce is gorgeous with the marigold.

    Gail
    clay and limestone

  6. greenwalks Says:

    PGL –

    Yes, I usually seem to pick food plants as much for their looks as for taste. Maybe that’s partly that I’m not always so good about harvesting everything. 🙂

    ++++

    Gail –

    Thanks! Your post and its responses were super fun to read.

    – Karen


Leave a Reply

