Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Great Smells of Summer August 30, 2008

Late in the Seattle summer, as the garden is entering its final showy period before winding down, there are some flowers blooming out there that you just have to stop and sniff. The roses are doing their second bloom thing, a bit later than usual this year due to the cool/wet weather, the phlox is heady enough to practically knock you over, and in the parking strip, a few heliotrope are casting their sensual spell. This one looks like it’s getting a hug (friendly, I hope!) from its unidentified neighbor.

Lemon Gem Marigold & Heliotrope

The ‘Lemon Gem’ marigold planted nearby smells pretty strong too, but more tangy and, well, lemony. Heliotrope is one of those old-fashioned annuals that I would probably never plant on my own, but my mom gives me some every year and they smell so amazing.

Here is an article about how to grow this scent-erific plant.

How about you, what’s smelling (in a good way) up your garden at this time of year?

 

5 Responses to “Great Smells of Summer”

  1. Cynthia Says:

    I have never grown Heliotrope but have admired it in other people’s gardens and it does smell wonderful. My chocolate cosmos are still blooming and they are one of my favorites for scent right now.

  2. DP Says:

    I don’t grow flowers, but those are just very pretty. My favorite flowers are the ones with strong scents. They make me feel lovely and happy.

  3. PGL Says:

    I love Heliotrope for the wonderful fragrance it emits in the garden. Right now I have Sweet Autumn Clematis that smells heavenly.

  4. Philip Says:

    The lemon gem marigold and the heliotrope is such an inspired plant combination. I love it.
    Regards,
    Philip

  5. greenwalks Says:

    Cynthia –

    Oh, chocolate cosmos, I’ve always wanted to grow that! Maybe next year I will. Sounds yummy.

    ++++

    DP –

    Do you really not grow any flowers? How do you attract pollinators? Interesting!

    ++++

    PGL –

    Your clematis is a stunner.

    ++++

    Philip –

    Thank you, it was pretty much a random combo that seems to have worked okay. 🙂

    – Karen


Leave a Reply

