Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Mosaic Planter Bed Top September 2, 2008

Our neighborhood elementary school built this raised concrete brick planter bed in their small garden near the street. The bricks are cemented in place and the top layer is decorated with mosaic tiles, no doubt by the kids. I thought it was a nice way to jazz up the otherwise kind of dull gray bricks.

School planter bed

 

4 Responses to “Mosaic Planter Bed Top”

  1. pgl Says:

    Those mosaic cement bricks are quite pretty. It really gives the edge of that raised bed a nice kick! πŸ™‚

  2. Curmudgeon Says:

    Hi there! Thanks so much for stopping by our blog and leaving us a comment. It’s so great to find other Seattle gardeners & bloggers.

  3. Philip Says:

    I love mosaics. I have been wanting to make one, but I needed the tile. Just like that my neighbor and my mother out of the blue asked if I wanted a old box of leftover tile from their remodel. How about that! Now I have no excuse!
    Best,
    Philip

  4. greenwalks Says:

    PGL –

    Yes, it does make the plain concrete so much more cheerful and lively.

    ++++

    Curmudgeon –

    Nice to have the Seattle gardeners meeting each other, as you say!

    ++++

    Philip –

    I’m sure you will create something lovely. I have some salvaged tiles sitting in a tub in my garage, waiting for me to become a more creative person. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

