Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Lovely Lily September 3, 2008

Saw this lone tiger lily (?) in a parking strip near our neighborhood. It was looking quite fierce out there!

I decided to post this today because the school crossing sign in the background symbolizes a big step for my family – we sent a very nervous kid off to kindergarten today! We all took lots of deep breaths and nobody cried (yet). There’s always after school for that, I suppose!

Spotted lily

 

8 Responses to “Lovely Lily”

  1. PGL Says:

    Aww…I hope your baby made it through the first day of school! I remember my boys’ first days. It was the hardest when my firstborn went off to Kindergarden. I cried & so did his little brother. 🙂

  2. Cynthia Says:

    I love how your picture tells a story today!

    Your son started Kindergarten today and my son started High School yesterday. To big steps in parenthood! At least we are not alone. 🙂

  3. greenwalks Says:

    My kiddo (daughter, actually) seems to have survived! Minor miracle. Thanks for your support, I truly appreciate it. This whole parenting thing is quite a journey, eh?

  4. Megan Says:

    Eesh. First days are so nerve-wracking. It gets better.

  5. Philip Says:

    Oh, first day of school!
    My friend Ric said when his daughter Noemi first went to school he cried and she happily went on ahead, not looking back!

  6. teijatar Says:

    Love lilies, too!

    Teija

  7. greenwalks Says:

    Megan and Philip –

    We all survived the first day and it’s all gone better than expected. Phew! I think it’s as hard on the parents as the kids, and maybe harder. 🙂

    ++++

    teijatar –

    I used to have a lot of lilies in my previous garden, I keep meaning to find a good spot for some here. I especially love the really fragrant ones like Casablancas.

  8. […] family, graduation, kindergarten, transition It seems like it was about two weeks ago that I wrote this micro-post about sending my only child off to kindergarten. I’m not too sure where the ensuring 10 months […]


Leave a Reply

