Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

‘Pink panda’ Strawberry September 4, 2008

An ornamental strawberry sounds like a complete oxymoron, but I saw these once at a garden show and had to have them. They are a hybrid between a a wild strawberry and a potentilla, I think, and you can start with just a few plants and end up with a mat of groundcover if you want. It spreads via stolons and if you keep track of it, it’s easy to pull out the ones you don’t want. I just let mine ramble, since I need space-fillers anyway. The pink blooms are super cute and cheerful, and since my daughter loves pandas, I planted some in “her” garden (also in the parking strip). The berries are edible but not all that tasty, so we usually leave them for the birds.

'Pink panda' strawberry

(Sorry, kind of out of focus. I think I need a new camera. Any recommendations of good ones for garden photography without spending a huge bundle?)

Here is a link to what they look like when massed. And for more information on its history and growth habits, click here.

 

4 Responses to “‘Pink panda’ Strawberry”

  1. PGL Says:

    Cute flowers! I like the name too. 🙂 I have a Nikkon Coolpix, it takes decent pictures without being overly expensive.

  2. Donna Says:

    I have had the Pink Panda but they were not as successful as yours are. 😦

  3. Philip Says:

    I have been enjoying catching up on your posts that I have missed.
    Regards,
    Philip

  4. greenwalks Says:

    PGL –

    I have the same camera but I think the lens is scratched, plus I never read the owners’ manual so I’m probably not harnessing its potential… hm, user failure, probably!

    ++++

    Donna –

    Well, it’s not because I do anything to help them! They just must like this climate and site type for some reason. Sorry they didn’t work out for you.

    ++++

    Philip –

    I’m so glad you are finding something of interest here!

    – Karen


Leave a Reply

