Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Planter Barrels September 6, 2008

Not ready to commit to ripping out your entire parking strip or building a big raised bed? You can take baby steps towards colonizing this valuable growing space by putting out a few inexpensive half-barrel planters to catch the sunlight for a small selection of veggies and flowers.

Here is an example from my neighborhood:

Barrel planters

This garden is also on a fairly decent slope, so perhaps the ground had to be dug out a tiny bit so that they would be level. Other than that, it looks like they were pretty much just plunked down and planted.

 

4 Responses to “Planter Barrels”

  1. PGL Says:

    Great use of unused space! I like the whiskey barrels for their natural look.

  2. Joy Says:

    I have a weakness for planters too .. a portable garden is how I think of them .. and you can do so many different styles. So I say YES ! to planters in a big way : )
    Great post !

  3. Cynthia Says:

    Another interesting post! I love my half barrels but I never would have thought to have used them in this way. It is a great idea! -Cynthia

  4. greenwalks Says:

    PGL –

    Yes, I have one of those and although I didn’t get around to planting anything in it this year, some alyssum overwintered and spread out so at least it smells nice! 🙂

    ++++

    Joy –

    Portable garden, good description – those folks can take the barrels with them if they move, no harm done. Or they can leave them for the next gardener to plant and enjoy!

    ++++

    Cynthia –

    I’ll have to poke around on your site to see what you have planted in your barrels.


Leave a Reply

