Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Sold on Sedums September 11, 2008

Before winter comes, an item that is definitely on my plant purchase list is a sedum (common name: stonecrop), or maybe more than one. This plant is super easy-case in our zone (8) and seems to be planted happily in many street gardens in our neighborhood. Although Seattle doesn’t seem like a place where succulents would thrive, there are many varieties within the 400+ sedum family that do just fine here. I like some of the taller ones, and their colors harmonize well with so much other stuff.

This purple variety, planted on the street in full sun, is a real eye-catcher. It might be ‘Vera Jameson’ but I’m not sure:

Purple sedum

This one, from an incredible and well-established street garden a block from our house, is in the shade, so its flowers are just now starting to turn pink in mid-September.

Fabulous foliage

Blurry photo, but this one had a really soft and glowy quality, planted in filtered sun:

Glowy sedum

They do go dormant every winter, but the dead flowers are good for providing “winter interest,” especially if they last until they get a dusting of snow.

Want to see more (and better!) photos of sedums? Here is a whole site devoted to pictures of them!

 

6 Responses to “Sold on Sedums”

  1. Megan Says:

    I love the purple leaves. I had some in shade. Autumn joy did ok, a little leggy but it made it. The rest, not so much.

  2. Lacey Says:

    I just planted an Autumn Joy and am really liking it so far. I’m on the look out for a purple variety … and a place to put it, lol.

  3. Joy Says:

    Hi there .. I am a huge fan of sedums too .. and did some posts on them .. pinching them back in June helps keep them from getting too thin and leggy .. and Autumn Fire is a great one to have in the garden .. a bit of an improvement on Autumn Joy but I still love that one too !
    Great post !

  4. rstair Says:

    Beautiful sedums, I especially love the purple one in the first picture. Great foliage color. They are super easy plants & I have several in my garden.

  5. Cynthia Says:

    Sedums are yet another plant that I can’t get enough of. Thanks for supplying the link. I’m going to be checking that one out for sure!

  6. greenwalks Says:

    Megan –

    I haven’t had great luck with sedums either myself, even Autumn Joy, but other people seem to do great with them. Go figure.

    ++++

    Lacey –

    Hope you find the perfect place and get your purple sedum, they sure are dramatic!

    Joy –

    Thanks for the pinch-back tip, I’m going to see if that will help mine do better in the future!

    rstair –

    Yes, that purple one is a real beauty, and my photo didn’t even really do it justice. I think I need one of those…

    Cynthia –

    They sure are popular here in Seattle, I seem to see them everywhere but never get tired of them, especially at this time of year (late Sept.). That site is a kick, who knew there were so many varieties?!

    – Karen


Leave a Reply

