Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Funky Trellis September 14, 2008

This bamboo-cane trellis with an interesting shape is constructed in a small raised bed on a major street near my house. Not sure what type of tree it’s supporting, but I really liked the simple, elegant form and it seems like it would be really simple to put together.

Interesting trellis

For more information about the art of espaliering trees and shrubs, click here.

Another creative trellis I saw a while ago but don’t have a photo of at the moment – two sets of old downhill skis, one pair at each end bolted together at the tips, supporting a wire-line raspberry trellis. Genius!

 

8 Responses to “Funky Trellis”

  1. mand Says:

    I love the skis idea – a bit like using old basins and toilet bowls etc as planters. ;0) I wish now we hadn’t thrown out the toilet when we had it “spare”!

    I wonder what the tree you show will be like when it’s grown over and hidden the whole trellis…

  2. Racquel Says:

    What a great natural trellis. I like the idea of the skis too, good way to recycle something into garden art.

  3. We visited Belgium last year and did a canal boat/bike tour and there were trellises for trees in front of almost every home. I think I may try to trellis a couple trees next year.

    I already have a few espaliers going. They’re easy and a great conversation piece.

  4. Jen Says:

    This is a great example of what can be done with just a few sticks. And to think I spent almost $40 on a trellis this year!

  5. mrtumnas Says:

    NICE! I’m definitely trying this. My boss has a bunch of bamboo plants in the front of the store, I’ll try to steal a few canes when no one is looking.

  6. Cynthia Says:

    I love this idea. The trellis reminds me of a canoe the way it is shaped. I have always admired this technique of growing trees and some day I will try it.

  7. greenwalks Says:

    mand –

    I put up a post on the skis a few days ago, hope you have a chance to check it out. Maybe that tree is a dwarf variety and won’t get any bigger? I dunno, I go by it every day so I’ll try to remember to look at it as time goes on.

    ++++

    Raquel –

    Recyling has been very Seattle for a long time, we are almost comical in our devotion to it. It’s fun to see the different ways people have of re-using things that would otherwise end up being tossed out.

    ++++

    Jim –

    Your trip sounds lovely, how nice to see other parts of the world and what they have going on in their gardens! Good luck with your trellises and espaliers, I’ve never used them myself but my folks are really into them for their apples.

    ++++

    Jen –

    Well, maybe your next trellis will be hand-made! Do you know anyone with runaway bamboo? You could always offer to help them trim it in exchange for some trellis materials. 🙂

    ++++

    mrtumnas –

    I’m not condoning theft or anything, but bamboo is a renewable resource, right? 🙂

    ++++

    Cynthia –

    You’re right, it does look like the prow of a boat. I hadn’t thought of that!

    – Karen

  8. mand Says:

    Thanx Karen; i did see the skis post, just didn’t comment. I love all these unorthodox ideas in the garden.


Leave a Reply

