Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Big ‘Barb September 16, 2008

This rhubarb looked big enough to be dinosaur food, and was growing happily right on the street in our neighborhood.

Big 'barb

Not sure if they are using it as a food crop or just as an ornamental. Either way, it’s huge! A whole family of elves could set up house underneath and never be discovered.

Rhubarb stalks

I always figured I didn’t have enough space for a rhubarb patch, but maybe the street is the place to put it. It sure would keep a large space weed-free! Mmmm, strawberry-rhubarb pie, I can almost taste it right now…

For more information on rhubarb cultivation, click here.

 

5 Responses to “Big ‘Barb”

  1. Cynthia Says:

    When I saw that top picture I said “WOW!” outloud! That has got to be one of the biggest rhubarbs I have ever seen! It looks really healthy too.

    I have always wanted to grow rhubarb so thanks for supplying the link! 🙂

  2. nancybond Says:

    That’s one healthy looking rhubarb plant!

  3. Marie Says:

    Beautiful flowers on your blog :)))

  4. Racquel Says:

    Big Barb is right! I’ve never seen such a massive Rhubarb plant in my life. 🙂

  5. greenwalks Says:

    Cynthia –

    I’ll be curious to read about your adventures in rhubarb cultivation, if you decide to grow it. This one was a real monster, I’d never seen one so big either!

    ++++

    Nancy –

    Yes, it was pretty impressive.

    ++++

    Marie –

    Thank you! What is life without beautiful blooms?!

    ++++

    Raquel –

    Well said – it was indeed massive!

    – Karen


Leave a Reply

