Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Freak tiny corn September 27, 2008

It’s always funny to me to hear about the weirdo volunteer seedlings that sprout in people’s gardens, whether from compost, bird leavings, or another mysterious process. Probably my most unusual sprout this summer was this freakishly miniature corn that showed up on the edge of my veggie patch, despite the fact that neither I nor anyone else on the street has ever grown corn that I know of.

Freak volunteer corn - alive

When it first came up, I thought it looked like corn but wasn’t sure. As it matured and its little tassels showed up, I let it stick around and wondered if I’d get to “harvest” something that maybe looked a little bit like the baby corn that usually gets tossed into bad vegetarian Chinese food.

But one day I got tired of looking at the broken-necked sunflowers and ripped them out (thanks, Mr/Ms Squirrel), and when I came back to the garden later I found this:

Freak volunteer corn after squirrel removed it

I don’t have a spycam but I’m just going to take a wild guess and say that the pissed-off squirrel, not finding any more sunflowers to break/devour, decided to see if the corn was worth gnawing on, ripped it out, took one bite, and tossed it. Either that or it has weirdly accurate perception of which plants I like, and decided to show me who’s the boss in the garden (after what I learned about crows this week, I wouldn’t be that surprised). Oh well, it probably wouldn’t have been edible anyway.

 

5 Responses to “Freak tiny corn”

  1. Racquel Says:

    That darn pesky squirrel of yours sure makes a havoc of your plants! How neat that corn just self seeded in your garden! Too bad it didn’t get a chance to develop into a mature ear.

  2. Shibaguyz Says:

    Okay… now you have a band of marauding ninja squirrels attacking your garden… sounds like you need to borrow our Shibaboyz for a day or two! They keep our garden clear of raccoons and squirrels… and those nasty crows that try to get at our tomatoes!

  3. Cynthia Says:

    They do have a strange way of knowing which plants we are interested in! Take my fox for example, why of why did he have to destroy my pretty pink rosemary? We both need spycams I am afraid. Poor little corn…. 😦

  4. lacey Says:

    Lol, my first thought was that the miniature corn was so cute! 😛 I agree with Racquel … too bad that baby never turned into corn you could eat, because that would have been very cool. I haven’t had any volunteers this year, except for the seeds from last years cosmos that kept trying to pop up in the middle of my lawn, lol.

  5. Georgia Says:

    There is a band of squirrels that love tomatoes. Instead of eating an entire fruit, they take a few bites out of several. Sometimes my days are filled with loud sighs. I have shielded the remaining fruit with chicken wire.


Leave a Reply

