Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Kale & Calendula September 28, 2008

I came upon a garden in my neighborhood recently that I hadn’t seen before. It’s a corner lot, so the gardener has probably about 60′ X 5′ to play with out there in the parking strip. I like to think it’s what my garden would probably look like if I planted it more densely and then left it completely alone. I.e. a bit of a wild tangle but lots to discover and admire!

Here is a companion planting that I thought was a neat one:

Kale and calendulas

The kale’s hue and shape are complemented nicely by the glowing orange of the calendulas (calendulae?). The whole area was in dappled shade when I visited and that particular bed was completely interplanted with veggies, herbs, and edible flowers. It definitely made me stop and look closely to see what was hiding out in between the bigger plants – not a single orderly row to be found!

 

One Response to “Kale & Calendula”

  1. Racquel Says:

    I agree that is an interesting combination of color & texture. I’m too organized when it comes to my garden, I wish I could let things go alittle wild without it driving me crazy. lol 🙂


Leave a Reply

