Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

What’s in a Name? September 29, 2008

Since I started writing this blog (mostly) about gardening in the space between the sidewalk and the street, I’ve heard a few different names for the area. In Seattle, I’ve always heard it referred to as a “parking strip,” but when I looked on the city’s web site they seem to be calling it a “planting strip.” Commenters here and fellow bloggers from Portland to Perth have taught me a few other names (including “boulevard,” “nature strip” and, definitely my favorite, “hell strip”) and it made me wonder if there are any others out there? Or does anyone have a good new coinage?

Triangle trellis

 

6 Responses to “What’s in a Name?”

  1. Racquel Says:

    We called them tree lawns in Ohio when I lived there as a kid.

  2. Georgia Says:

    Great question!

    I have also heard the terms “tree lawn” and “boulevard.” Others: parkway, sidewalk strip.

    Sadly, not all streets have contiguous areas for planting. Some streets have individual tree wells/ tree pits.

  3. Kathy Says:

    I didn’t realize they were called anything at all until I read Lauren Springer’s first book, where she called them hell strips. In some small towns in upstate NY, they are certainly wide enough to be called tree lawns.

  4. Kim Says:

    I’ve always called them parkways. I think it’s a California thing.

    Loving the blog!

  5. Philip Says:

    I like your term “green walk”!
    It says that it is a place for plants by a walkway,sidewalk, but also contributes the the ecological health of the city.
    Best,
    Philip

  6. Amanda Says:

    In Houston, TX we call them “easements”.


Leave a Reply

