Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

One Step Closer September 30, 2008

I’m not sure why I’m being such a giant procrastinator about planting the fall veggie garden. Maybe it falls under the category of “blog now, garden later,” which seems to be a major trend for me these days…

At least I got one baby step closer yesterday, finally going by the closest local garden center, Seattle’s wonderful City People’s Mercantile, to get some bags of compost. I used to make my own, but it took too long the way I did it (not keeping it “hot” like you’re supposed to) and when we moved to our current place, I kind of gave up. Maybe I’ll get back to it, since there’s nothing like home-grown for richness and safety (i.e. no weed seeds or other people’s leftover lawn chemicals). But for now, I’m pretty into the Gardner & Bloome line of organic compost products. The Soil Building Compost has helped amend my rocky/clay/poor soil immensely, although it’s a little bark-heavy for my taste sometimes. I always toss a few handfuls of the Planting Mix in with each new plant or row of seeds, and this year I’m trying the Harvest Supreme to see if it will help with my (untested) soil pH. I got one big bag of each yesterday.

Compost for the fall garden

Last winter, my poor neighbors had to look at a bunch of those bags all winter, until I finally got around to planting stuff and used them up. I think it was around June or July, eesh. To mangle a proverb, I guess the road to the hell strip is paved with good intentions (and compost)!

 

3 Responses to “One Step Closer”

  1. Kristi Says:

    I’m a little hesitant to start myself since we often get heat waves until November. Can’t wait to see what your going to plant.

  2. Racquel Says:

    Looks like some great organic stuff! Hopefully seeing the bags will motivate you to get your fall veggie garden started. 🙂

  3. Megan Says:

    Some years I’m on top of it, some years I let stuff sit, and I never know which it’s going to be until I’ve already bought the stuff. Hoping it’s not a sitting around year for me. But we still had hot weather last weekend, and I don’t do much in that. This weekend should be rainy, which is much better for my motivation level.


Leave a Reply

