Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Fall Flowers October 8, 2008

There’s a tradition among some of the Blotanical garden bloggers to post pictures of what’s blooming in their gardens on Tuesdays. I never seem to get around to it, although sometimes I at least take the pictures. So, one day late, here are some things that are still going strong, or at least surviving, as of October 7.

My mom grew these marigolds from seed and gave me them in early summer. I plunked them in at the corner of the parking strip, right on the street, forgot to water them, probably stepped on them a few times getting out of the car, but still they survived. I like to give them to friends who celebrate Dia de los Muertos at the end of the month, as there are usually a few left by then.

Street marigolds

I’ve posted about these guys before, cute and prolific alyssum with its honey scent, and the steadily creeping and adorably named ‘Pink Panda’ ornamental strawberry. These ones live happily at the very edge of the parking strip, where it meets the sidewalk. No adverse affects from the occasional dog footprint, apparently.

Strawberry 'Pink Panda'

The previous gardener put in a million trailing rosemary plants to grow over and cover the boring cement retaining wall on the street. I’m so glad he did – the tiny, delicate leaves are gently fragrant, and it flowers twice per year, including in the late fall, providing nearly endless food for the bees. I’ve never watered it once in three years, so I think it’s pretty safe to say that it’s a water-wise plant once established.

Trailing rosemary

I planted blanket flower for the first time this year and didn’t take very good care of it, but it made it through the summer and is still blooming. I like how the seed heads look like little yellow pincushions.

Blanket flower

This pink windflower (Japanese anemone) took a year or so to get established and finally bloom. It’s not in the greatest site, but I see it every time I come and go from the front porch, and I’ve seen them massed in parking strips so I know they can take the extra punishment of a street garden.

Pink Japanese Anemones

Hey, who put my variegated nasturtium in jail? That’s right on the street too, and I think a few car doors have hit the wire fence that encloses the veggie/herb patch, so it’s a little askew. The feathery fennel and deep purple shiso leaves are visible as well.

Nasturtiums in jail

Finally, the California fuschia that is somehow managing to grow amidst the densely-packed cedar roots is still putting out a few last blooms for the hummingbirds to enjoy. This would be a great plant for the parking strip, as it’s fairly tough and drought-tolerant. I love the silvery quality of its leaves.

California fuchsia

What about you, anything interesting still going on, flower-wise, in your garden?

 

5 Responses to “Fall Flowers”

  1. Cindy Says:

    I love that trailing rosemary. It’s very sweet and delicate.

  2. Racquel Says:

    Looks like you made great selections for plants along your parking strip. They are tough, durable & still beautiful bloomers. Things with scent are a plus in an area like this where you might have to brush up against them. I love your Pink Panda Strawberry! And I definitely need to add some Anemones to my garden next year.

  3. Joy Says:

    These are great plants you have here girl ! They are tough as nails and keep blooming and send scent out (love the trailing rosemary) .. this is how gardening is going .. finding tough plants that can survive naughty conditions and still smile at us !
    You have to love them !
    Joy

  4. Shibaguyz Says:

    One pot of marigolds and the beans are still blooming… that’s all we have to report from here!

  5. nancybond Says:

    Your blooms look lovely and strong. Resilient! šŸ™‚ It’s nice you still have this much color.


Leave a Reply

