Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Evil Plant Trifecta October 12, 2008

File under “What Not To Plant” (at least in my opinion)…

A neighbor has opted for what must be the three most difficult to eradicate plants in our climate (Seattle, Zone Eight), all planted together at the top of the retaining wall on the sidewalk. My photo is poorly exposed but maybe you can still see them twining together in all their rapacious glory:

Evil trifecta II

Yes indeedy, that is ivy, St. John’s wort (my personal nemesis) and Himalayan blackberry. I’d never seen them all planted together, I wonder if it was even intentional. In the immortal words of Mr. T, I pity the fool who has to rip this out someday!

 

Leave a Reply

