Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Surprise Shallots October 17, 2008

When spading over the veggie patch the other day, getting ready to plant the winter salad seeds and starts, I accidentally unearthed some small treasures – two baby shallots, forgotten from last spring.

Surprise shallots

Sadly, they were mushy inside and couldn’t be eaten. They should have been harvested last spring, since I planted them the previous fall (a year ago). Not sure why they got missed or if I will ever figure out onion/garlic/shallot growing. I seem to do okay with green onions (scallions) but not much else. I’m not even so great with chives. Maybe it’s genetic – my mom can’t digest onions very well and she only grows the mildest garlic.

For more info on growing many members of the onion family, click here.

 

3 Responses to “Surprise Shallots”

  1. Racquel Says:

    I love shallots for cooking. I’ve never grown any type of onion or garlic other than the ornamental Alliums.

  2. Hey, thanks for stopping by my blog. I just heard the term “hell strip” recently, too. Such a terrible name for what, I think, can be a lovely pocket garden.

    This is a terrific blog, BTW. I’ll be checking in again to see how your veggies do.

    Cheers,

    Susan

  3. Shibaguyz Says:

    We’ve had great luck with garlic so this year we put in two types of onions and shallots. We’ll let ya know if we come up with any big secrets for growing onions!


Leave a Reply

