Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

New Gloves October 28, 2008

Filed under: my garden — greenwalks @ 11:25 am
Tags: , , , ,

Sometimes it’s the small things in life that can make me happier. At the hardware store the other day, I picked up a new pair of Atlas gloves to help me get my bulbs in the ground (not sure why I need extra motivation there, but every year I put it off way too long). I usually use their blue and white fairly heavy grade gloves, but have to take them off for doing any fine work like seed planting or even seedling handling. These ones, the “Nitrile Touch” model, come in an array of fab colors and are super thin and supple. I chose a kind of pale sage green, but later wondered if I should have picked something brighter (orange? pink??) and less easily lost if put down in the garden.

New gloves

That was my sole “tool” purchase for the gardening year, pretty cheap. Does that mean I get to spend more on plants?

Do you have a favorite pair of gardening gloves that you must use every time, or do you just put on whatever has the least crusty caked mud?

 

7 Responses to “New Gloves”

  1. tina Says:

    I can relate for sure. I have to ask, have you got the bulbs in yet? I haven’t even started on mine:)

  2. Megan Says:

    I just bought a bunch of these. I don’t know what made me think I had to only have one old holey pair of gloves, I realized I could stock several, and always have a clean dry pair ready.
    As a bonus, they work well for handling little critters that have a tendency to bite. I’ve been using them on my foster gerbils.

  3. Kim Says:

    My new favorites are Ethel gloves, and you can see my review here: http://toomuchstuff.typepad.com/instrument_of_grace/2008/10/ethel-gloves—not-just-a-pretty-face-er-palm.html .

    That said, there is a link in that post to a picture of a few of my glovies on my front step. I guess I’m a “collector.” I love the Nitrile Touch ones, too, and I think there’s at least one pair (the blue ones) in that photo.

    I’d say you’ve showed admirable restraint this year – how did you do it?

  4. Georgia Says:

    I would have chosen the same color; sage green “says” garden(ing)!

  5. Jen Says:

    My husband doesn’t wear gloves but someone always gives him a pair of black leather ones for Christmas. Those are usually my garden gloves!

  6. Racquel Says:

    I usually only wear gloves when doing heavy duty work (like trimming roses). Otherwise I find that most restrict most tasks such as weeding. Those look pretty good though so maybe I will reconsider.

  7. gardenmentor Says:

    These are my favs and have been for years. They don’t do much to keep my hands warm, so sometimes I slip a pair of fingerless ragwood gloves over them in really cold weather. However, I love that I can feel through the tips to get at weeds, and they’re great protectors. Don’t let them go through the drier too often or the rubbery parts will turn cracked-plasticy.


Leave a Reply

