Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

More Planter Box Ideas November 2, 2008

If one of the items on your winter project list is to make a raised bed planter, here are a few more design options, all spotted on one street’s parking strip in my neighborhood.

This simply constructed but fairly deep (approx. 2 ft. high) bed has plastic webbing strung across attached supports and acts as a trellis for climbing veggies, not sure if it was peas or beans, since they were all done by the time I saw this.

Planter box & trellis

A second, identical planter box was just down the hill. Note that these are deep enough for root crops like the carrots that were still growing in this one in early October.

Planter box & trellis II

There was also room enough for some mini squash plants next to the carrots, or maybe they were cucumbers?

Deep enough for carrots

One gardener favors veggies, another likes flowers. This low bed was full of fall bloomers such as dahlias and penstemon, and surrounded by wood chips with nary a weed in sight.

Low raised bed for flowers

Tidily tended flower planter bed:

Tidy raised bed

I really need to get myself organized and make something similar, especially for carrots. My soil has a thick clay layer underneath the compost I’ve added and root crops are just not happening for me right now. What about you, any construction projects in your near future?

 

7 Responses to “More Planter Box Ideas”

  1. Those are great – no bending over to weed & harvest!

  2. Shibaguyz Says:

    We are planning on working with our neighbors to make our parking strip into a neighborhood garden next year. This design would be perfect for the end caps of the garden to define the space. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. AnnA Says:

    I may have to do this sort of thing for my side yard. The soil is too compacted with roots from a big tree in my neighbor’s yard. It is interesting that these are in the front yard. I think that’s pretty cool.

  4. I love planter boxes. They make everything look so neat and tidy. These look nice and sturdy.

  5. Racquel Says:

    Those are some great looking planter boxes! I plan on making some of these for the veggies I plan to grow next year. I like that you can make them deep enough for root crops, very clever. 🙂

  6. Kristi Says:

    They look fantastic, I wish I had more room for carrots and squash.

  7. gardenmentor Says:

    So, what’s your opinion on using pressure treated wood for raised planters — especially those designed for edibles? I tend to stay on the side of caution, not using pressure treated woods for my edibles. Sure, using untreated wood means that they may decompose faster, but my untreated raised cedar beds are on their 8th or 9th year and show no signs of biting the dust anytime soon. I have my suspicions about pressure treated woods leaching toxins into the soil where my edibles are growing. What about you?


Leave a Reply

