Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Sign(s) of the Times November 4, 2008

Walking up to the local elementary school to cast my ballot today, I decided to look for election signs in the neighborhood’s parking strips. Our blue block in a blue neighborhood in a blue city in a blue state is not big on signs, usually. I have a theory that my parents’ town, which seems to breed these signs like wildfire, has more because the parties are more evenly split there, and they feel like they have to compete for attention.

In any case, I did my best to be non-partisan in my search but completely failed. This is big Obama country, what can I say!

Election Signs

There was somewhat of a wind storm last night, knocking a few of the signs askew and downing many leaves. Nobody had time to rake them up in the rush to vote and head to work this morning, so the leaf carpets were pretty thick and many were quite beautiful. I especially liked this one, which I think might be yellow cherry and purple plum:

Leaf Carpet

We have a big Mass Transit measure on the ballot. Hard to say how it will fare – many of us would agree that we need to get out of our cars more, but some folks will probably vote their pocketbook in this trying economic climate. Fingers crossed it will pass, we really need it here in Seattle, where too many of us drive everywhere (guilty!).

Mass Transit & Fall Leaves

After I’d voted (old-fashioned in-person paper ballot), I kept walking to see what more was out there on this gloomy-weather but news-exciting day. This tree really knocked me out, not sure if it was a type of maple, but it really looked as if it was on fire!

Flaming Fall Tree

This combination cracked me up, kind of a segue between Halloween and Election Day:

Obama, Biden & Pumpkin

I know some people think that politics have no place in a gardening blog. I just couldn’t bring myself to write a totally non-related post today. I hope that whatever you believe, you cast your vote! I feel like if I don’t vote, I have no right to complain. šŸ™‚ Happy November 4!

Oh, one last sign, the only home-made one I saw:

Grandmas for Obama Sign

 

8 Responses to “Sign(s) of the Times”

  1. Philip Says:

    šŸ™‚
    All the best!
    Philip

  2. fairegarden Says:

    Good for you, we all need to cast our vote, not just this time but every time there is an election of any sort. It is not our right, it is our duty.

    Frances

  3. Racquel Says:

    I stood in line for an hour this morning to cast my vote too.

  4. Kristi Says:

    Maybe this is a sign of good things to come. šŸ˜‰

  5. Aerie-el Says:

    Change–captured in your photos of the beautiful autumn leaves, and on the signs of a hopeful future for our country.
    Politics–gardening blog–sure they go together, and you did it with flair!

  6. I am proud of us tonight. Now we all need to roll up our sleeves.

  7. Linda Says:

    Thanks, Karen, for the comment you left on my blog. I was so ecstatic last night, that quick post and pic of Pres.Elect Obama was all I could manage. šŸ™‚ Thanks for all your (obvious) efforts and the efforts of others of all of us who believe last night’s victory finally demonstrated what America SHOULD be all about. Linda (“GardenzOwn”)

  8. Curmudgeon Says:

    Lovely Fall color! Did you take a cheat-sheet in with you to the booth? We voted by mail. The whole time we were filling out our ballots we kept asking each other how one could keep all those initiatives, propositions and local races in your head? Not too many signs around here either–except for the Burbanks/Reuyven race, can’t go two feet without tripping over one of those signs.


Leave a Reply

