Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Skewered November 5, 2008

Today’s probably going to be the only dry day this week, so instead of attempting to craft a profound and epic post-election essay, I’m going to keep it short and head out to the garden instead.

I’m having a hard time leaving politics and pumpkins behind. They seemed to go hand in hand for me this year, with the two big fall events (Halloween and the election) colliding in space, time and my thoughts so often. At times the presidential race got so farcical it seemed like the two events were switching places! But in the end I was happy with the result and look forward to moving past all the craziness. Today the squirrel-gnawed pumpkins are going in the compost and I hope at least a few of the neighbors’ election signs will make it to the recycling.

Mini pumpkin skewer

This was my favorite sidewalk Halloween decoration, seen yesterday as I walked home from the polls (as I found out later, it was our last time to vote in person here in Washington state, something I’m very sad about). Mini pumpkins on a skewer! I won’t make any election analogies, except to wonder how much Tina Fey’s spot-on impression of a certain vice presidential candidate did to hurt that campaign. Hey, how about Tina Fey/John Stewart in 2016? (I can’t take credit for this – see ultra-leftie Seattle news rag Eat the State for this and even more irreverent punditry).

 

10 Responses to “Skewered”

  1. Curmudgeon Says:

    I got out Sun. between showers and planted pansies and kale. Today I have to get out and plant cyclamen. Love the skewered little pumpkins!

  2. Chloe.M Says:

    Karen,

    What a wonderful concept for a garden blog! All too often, our ‘hellstrips’ are neglected, barren. Hopefully this will inspire everybody to look anew at that part of their gardens.

    Chloe M.

  3. Megan Says:

    I’m going to miss the season, too. Campaign news has been my entertainment for over a year now. Guess I should start paying attention to basketball season or something now.

    Between Palin and Couric, I think the campaign was mortally wounded. I think they still would have lost without those things, but by narrower margins.

  4. Megan Says:

    Oh no! I am losing my mind. I meant to say Tina Fey and Katie Couric. It’s so hard to keep Fey and Palin straight.

  5. Racquel Says:

    I’m just glad the hoopla is over now & we can get down to business with the coming of the New Year. I like the skewered pumpkins, very cute.

  6. Jen Says:

    Yes, it will be great to get back to normal, but I had such fun campaigning this year that I’m afraid I might be experiencing a little “post-partum” depression, even though my candidate won!

    Hey I love that scary sushi you made!

  7. Cynthia Says:

    You had some sun today?! Where was mine?? It rained continously again over here. My garden is one big soggy mess in need of some serious clean-up!

  8. Aerie-el Says:

    …and the pumpkins say, ooowwww-ch…
    They are wicked cute!

  9. We’ve voted by mail down in SW Washington for a couple of years now and I really miss voting in person. I like the little ladies that have you sign in, I miss the coffee and cookies, and I miss bringing my kids to make a big deal out of it. It is just not the same.


Leave a Reply

