Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

My Nemesis November 8, 2008

My daughter, who has been home sick from school the past two days, was sitting with me on the couch late this afternoon when she pointed up into our cedar tree and said, “Mommy, what’s that up there?” I didn’t see where she was pointing at first. Then I saw him, Public Enemy #1 in my garden.

A squirrel eating an apple?

I said to my daughter, “Good eye, sweetie. Do you see what he’s eating?” And she said, “An apple from the neighbor’s house?” Bingo! I guess he read my previous post about how much it annoys me that he’s messing with all my seedlings and bulbs when there are unused apples just two doors down. It was getting pretty dark so the shots are a little fuzzy, but you can see in this next one that he’s looking right at us with his beady little eyes, bold as brass. No fear. The perfect supervillain!

Yep, yummy

Oh, and every supervillain needs a name, right? I’m leaning towards Dr. Destructo but will be happy to accept alternate suggestions.

 

13 Responses to “My Nemesis”

  1. Gail Says:

    I think Dr Destructo works quite nicely! I don’t know whether to blame the squirrels or the chipmunks for the havoc in the beds…but I totally blame the Squirrels for the chewed up hickory nuts all over the patio!

  2. easygardener Says:

    Hmmm…..he looks very shifty. I’ve seen that look before. Be afraid, be very afraid 🙂

  3. Racquel Says:

    I wonder if he’s related to the beast that’s been terrorizing EG’s garden lately. lol Dr Destructo is a great name for your nemesis. At least he’s eating those apples instead of your bulbs at the moment. 😉

  4. Cynthia Says:

    Hi Karen that last comment was from me…. I goofed and logged in with my OLD knitting blog. What can I say…it has been a long day! If you could just kindly delete it and leave this one…please.

    Now what I meant to say is I think you have named this little bandit appropiately! They are cute to look at but not always the most welcome garden guest are they? 🙂

  5. LOL…those pics are too cute! I can say that because there isn’t a squirrel within 5 miles of my farm. Now we do have a herd of over 60 elk that wonders through a few time a year. They aren’t nearly as cute!

  6. Shibaguyz Says:

    hhhmmmm… the perfect name for a nemesis… hhhmmmm… Can’t think of any villainous names but there was a Squirrel Girl superhero introduced in 1992 by Marvel Comics. She had the ability to control squirrels.

    No… we’re not comic geeks (just garden geeks, thank you! LOL), I just did a google search on squirrel villains and came up with that. Maybe you just need to find Squirrel Girl and have her tae care of your problem!

  7. Monica Milla Says:

    LOL–it’s funny how everyone has their own garden nemesis. Mine’s a groundhog–I personally love squirrels and they largely respect some ground rules I’ve set out of our happy coexistence. Not so much with the groundhogs… good luck with your squirrel though it may be more than one! 🙂

  8. Curmudgeon Says:

    Diva Dog says she’d be happy to come over and teach that squirrel a lesson–and she’d be happy to have a go at all those cats that hang around your front steps!

  9. Jane Says:

    Oh! I share your pain!

    I recently saw one of his brothers in arms croosing the street and I instinctively stopped the car to let him over – doh!

  10. Michelle Says:

    Dr. Destructo is the perfect name! I’ll never forget the time one of his cohorts chewed through the netting covering my fig tree and got trapped in there. He was one P.O.’d bushy tailed rat. Thank goodness that’s one pest I don’t have to deal with in my current garden, just rats, gophers, and deer, to name the furry ones.

  11. Philip Says:

    He does look rather cute, if villinous!

  12. […] my bulbs into the ground right away was that I had seen my un-favorite critter around a lot, Dr. Destructo the evil squirrel. Last year, he (or one of his buddies/relatives) systematically dug up and either made off with or […]

  13. […] that freshly dug dirt and smoothly layered mulch is probably going to be a magnet for you-know-who – even if he’s not after the peonies, I’ll have to replant them if he digs them up […]


Leave a Reply

