Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Found the Bulb List! December 10, 2008

Filed under: flora,my garden — greenwalks @ 11:08 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

A few weeks ago, I posted about the bulbs I got at the UW Arboretum’s annual Fall Bulb Sale. Typically for me, I wrote all the varieties down on a piece of paper as I was planting them and then promptly lost it. But while picking up the house for guests last weekend, guess what turned up?!

So, just in case anyone was truly interested, and for my own edification and permanent records, here it is,

General categories and numbers:

45 tulipa

30 narcissi

20 muscari

13 allium (lucky number?)

10 chionodoxa

10 bellevalia parodoxa

3 hemerocallis (aka daylily, sadly 2 never got planted)

1 peony

It’s a pretty random and somewhat goofy selection, I admit. The ones that made it into the parking strip on October 29, with a so-far-successful covering of plum or witch hazel leaves, a spritz of witches’ brew and a sprinkling of paprika on top (hope I’m not jinxing by saying it but, here on December 10, nary a bulb has been nabbed by the squirrels!) included these:

– tulipa Kaufmanii ‘Early Harvest’ (orange feathered scarlet)

– chionodoxa ferberii ‘Blue Giant’

– allium moly ‘Golden ??’ (scribbled/smudged paper, can’t read it, ack! Just looked it up – maybe Golden Garlic?)

I know there was another paper with more information about the tulip and daffodil varieties, but it probably went in the recycling and is long gone. Dang. Guess I will just have to wait until spring and be surprised.

Just a couple of days after I found the bulb list, I was walking through the backyard and spied a scrap of brown paper with a white label on the ground. Amazingly, it was the name label from the peony I planted weeks ago. I’d carefully excised the tag so that I could remember the variety and then somehow left it out there. Good thing we haven’t had a lot of rain, or it would have morphed into a pulp.  So, now it will not be a complete mystery until next spring –  it’s paeonia lactiflora ‘Detroit,’ a dark red-purple May-blooming beauty that I think my mom might have in her garden.  According to the A & D Nursery site it was devloped in 1948,  is a “very large double dark red bomb that blooms in the earliest part of the midseason; medium height plant” and they want $20 for it. I got mine for $9, but who knows if it will actually come up. The image below is also from the A & D site:

detroitpeony

Well, I think it’s clear that I am one of the more disorganized gardeners out here in the blogosphere. I hope you are all feeling very good about your own record-keeping right now, compared to mine!

 

11 Responses to “Found the Bulb List!”

  1. fairegarden Says:

    Hi Karen, that cracked me up! But at least you found the list and the peony name. That dark red sounds fantastic. You have one on your list I have never heard of though, bellevalia, will have to look it up. I make lists and save tags too, and think of myself as super organized, but those little slips of paper can escape my watchful eye, darn them! I would love to get the names of all the plants on the computer, what a huge project, daunting in fact, but something to work on a little at a time.
    Frances

  2. fairegarden Says:

    I just looked it up, grape hyacinths! I thought those were still muscari, darn those name changer, can’t leave well enough alone!
    Frances

  3. You have a list? Right away that makes you more organized than me. 😉

  4. easygardener Says:

    Despite carrying a notebook around the garden I still try to “write that down later”. I can remember I’ve forgotten something – but not what it is!
    Glad your paprika & brew are working so far. I recently covered a large fat/peanut block with chilli pepper then looked through the window to see a squirrel nibbling away unconcerned. Sigh!

  5. Jen Says:

    Have you seen that site Folia? They have a planting journal/database where you can enter what you planted when and where, compare with other growers, etc. I’m trying it with a few. I also planted tulips, muscari and allium. Hope you continue to have good luck with the squirrels!

  6. Curmudgeon Says:

    Very little organization happening over here. I do make lists and then completely ignore them. Last winter WN made a beautiful plan for the potager complete with timing for succession plantings–we misplaced the plans in a pile somewhere and just ended up planting whatever whereever, as usual. Sigh.

  7. Ronnie Says:

    HAHA! We’re Gardeners! Are we supposed to be that organized??….er, maybe…..well, we’ve made it this far at least! Thanks for keeping it real up in Seattle:)

  8. Philip Says:

    Hi!
    This will be a very silly comment, but…
    We call those who take lists and socks and anything else missing the tinys. Little folk who use your socks as sleeping bags. Count the unmatched socks you have, and that is how many tinys live nearby. It seems they gave both lists back to you, so that is a good sign they approve!
    🙂
    Best,
    Philip

  9. Racquel Says:

    Glad you found the list Karen. 🙂 I like the selection you picked out, they are all such great bloomers! Your Peony looks like it will be a real beauty too.

  10. kristi Says:

    I love peony, but keep forgetting to get the bulbs. Your garden will be gorgeous come spring.

  11. Cynthia Says:

    Hi Karen,
    I’m just as bad and every year I start the growing season off by swearing I will keep better records. My intentions are good but by about June I’ve already tossed the garden notebook aside! Glad you found your list. I never even got around to ordering bulbs this year. 😦


Leave a Reply

