Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Dear Snow December 26, 2008

Filed under: weather,winter — greenwalks @ 12:48 pm
Tags: , , ,

Dear Snow –

I am writing to you today, December 26, 2008, to respectfully request that you depart from Seattle.

I’ll admit, you have been pretty, and with the duration of your stay, a novelty. But you have caused so much difficulty, due to our city’s unpreparedness for this type of winter siege, that I think it’s really time for you to go.

Was it not enough that you caused the bus system to become incapacitated and the roads to be covered with ice, therefore preventing people from getting to work or to see family (we missed Christmas with my folks due to you)? How about all the animals that are having trouble finding food, not to mention the homeless people who are freezing out there and waiting for normal winter temperatures to return?

I know, it’s winter. But winter in Seattle usually involves just a light dusting of snow now and again, a few dips below freezing, and otherwise just gray skies and rain. If I loved you, oh snow, I would have become a skiier, or moved to Buffalo. But I don’t. So…

Please, please, please won’t you go away? This is my fifth straight day of stir-crazy house-boundedness! I am so sick of you! Not to mention worried about my poor frozen plants.

I’m begging you, snow, just go. And don’t leave a bunch of flooding in your wake, okay? Because that would just be more than too much.

Thank you very much for your consideration, and I hope you enjoy the rest of your winter up in the mountains where you belong,

Karen

Icicles

 

15 Responses to “Dear Snow”

  1. Racquel Says:

    Look at the size of those icicles, wow!!! It’s always pretty at first but then it overstays its’ welcome. šŸ™‚

  2. Megan Says:

    My eaves and gutters looked like that yesterday, and then in the middle of the night, there was this huge BOOM. Got up this morning and found the snow filled gutter and the attached fascia fell completely off the house. Smashed a gazing globe in the process, which is the least of the repair expense, but still, rude.
    I do think we’re almost done with it though.

  3. Michele Says:

    Well put…maybe you can add an addendum to include Portland? Thanks!

  4. easygardener Says:

    I’m wishing for snow – but I can see how you can be seriously fed up with the whole winter wonderland scenario!
    Even so I love the icicles – haven’t seen those since I was a child.

  5. My goodness. What a lot of snow. Hoipe you are able to dig out soon.

  6. Ahh, I’m sorry you have been stuck with all that snow! It really does get annoying after a while:) What nerve, those icicles had, falling down and destroying your gazing globe! I must say though, I think they are beautiful. We got some little skinny ones here, hanging off a bird feeder, and thought that was cool…but nothing like yours! If you want, you can ship some of it my way–I’d be happy to take it for a few weeks:) My childhood was filled with snow and icicles and it still doesn’t seem like Christmas to me without them! Be careful out there!! Jan

  7. Susan Says:

    Feel free to send your Seatlle snow MInnesota-ward. We love snow and are having equally crazy 45 degree weather– and our naked grass is now showing!

  8. Philip Says:

    Karen!
    I do hope the snow clears soon for you. I am sorry in interrupted your Christmas.
    It is so true that cities that do not get a lot of snow can be shut down as they do not have the equipment to deal with it.
    I hope your plants are ok, and must of all,
    All of you!
    Stay safe,
    Philip

  9. kris Says:

    I was living in Seattle for the last storm that was a little like this one (was it Christmas 1990?) when the streets became sheet ice and all forward movement skidded to a stop – though we could keep moving sideways if I remember right. Major snow in Seattle isn’t right and I hope you are able to pass it along to the rest of us who (now) live in more snow appropriate climes. Merry Merry anyhow and thanks for visiting trench manicure!

  10. KAren–thanks for your comments over on my blog. I like the idea for the guest blog exchange. It would be a great way to pay homage to my dad’s vision. And I’d love to have you show your family’s bikes!

    We can talk more about it when things settle down over here.
    Until then, bundle up against all that snow. šŸ™‚

  11. Kim Says:

    Well, now I know where OUR snow is – it stopped on the west coast and didn’t remember to continue on to the east. It’s 67 today in the Baltimore/Washington area, and I’d gladly trade weather with you!

  12. Curmudgeon Says:

    Hurray! Your letter worked. It’s gone. But I would not recommend going out to your garden to check on the plants. It is very very sad.

  13. Michelle Says:

    Those icicles are something else! Must have been fun to watch them develop. But we mild winter types, we just don’t DO that kind of weather for very long. I’ve always said snow is fun to visit but I don’t want it to visit me! Hope your garden comes through ok. Happy New Year!

  14. Aerie-el Says:

    Great letter! I hear that we are possibly in for more snow this weekend (shudder). BLAH!
    Those icicles are beauties, but watch out…they can getcha (see Ralphie in ‘A Christmas Story’)!
    ~Aerie-el

  15. ROFL…yes the PNW is just not equipped for this. I must say I love it though, but then again I’m originally from Eastern WA where we got loads of snow. Woke up again this morning to even more of the white stuff, guess I better get the sleds out!


Leave a Reply

