Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Not Again?!?! January 4, 2009

Filed under: snow,weather,winter — greenwalks @ 8:34 pm
Tags: , , ,

The view from my front porch in Seattle about two hours ago:

dscn5193

More stupid snow! The night before school is supposed to start after 3+ weeks of combined sick/snow/vacation time for my kid.

Yes, it’s only a dusting in the picture, but it’s still falling, and it’s up to a couple of inches by now. Okay, warmer temps and rain are predicted for early tomorrow morning, but they might not arrive in time to save the school day. They seem to cancel it if they see even one flake at 4am. At this rate, we’re accumulating so many snow days that the kids will be in school through the 4th of July!?!

I know I sound like a wuss and a whiner here, but I have to say –

I.

Am.

So.

Sick.

Of.

Snow.

 

9 Responses to “Not Again?!?!”

  1. Paula Says:

    Here, here! I just posted a similar photo, and then hit a link which took me to your blog while I was on my way elsehere. At least we’re in it together again. Fingers crossed for warmer temps.

  2. Cynthia Says:

    “I.

    Am.

    So.

    Sick.

    Of.

    Snow.”

    Too.

    Enough said!
    It’s coming down hard over here too. More shoveling tomorrow. *sigh*

  3. Aerie-el Says:

    I feel like I fell asleep and woke up in Buffalo, NY.
    We’ve got 3 inches and counting here (south of Seattle).
    I just want to say to Mother Nature…E-nuff with the white stuff in Seattle!

  4. Michele Says:

    That is so funny! I just posted some night time “snow falling again” photos too. I think all of us Northwesterners have had enough!

  5. Michelle Says:

    You poor things! You need to migrate south for a bit. No snow here, just rain and an occasional frost, but you’re used to that!

  6. Megan Says:

    I’m feeling rather alone in my continued excitement for the snow. It started falling when I was out working in the yard. I had no idea it was so cold out. It was my first time ever snow gardening. So much fun.
    But that last snow storm before Christmas was pretty inconvenient with all the running around.

  7. Jen Says:

    Hi Karen and Happy New Year!
    I. Can. Relate. Unfortunately I work from home so I can’t even take a snow day for myself when the kids do. Sob. Just remember “cleaning the house while the kids are still growing is like shoveling the driveway while it’s still snowing”

  8. easygardener Says:

    I sympathise (lol) – but I who rarely sees snow (except for a couple of snowflakes) would love to have some of yours. It should be shared equally and last no more than a week!

    • greenwalks Says:

      EG – Oh yes, equal weather for all! I think we’d all be better off. Oh well, climate is what it is, except when it isn’t… lately I’ve really been wondering if the changes are going to be permanent. We’ve had such wacky weather for so long now, it seems! Yikes.


Leave a Reply

