Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Winter Crabapples January 7, 2009

After yet another snowfall the other day, I spotted this parking strip crabapple and had to stop, slog through the slush, and take some photos. I have complained about my own crabapples, which are spindly and perhaps have been poorly pruned, but these ones had a nice shape and the color of their fruit is really pleasing. Plus, they looked pretty with the snow melting off of them.

Crabapple in winter

I’m not sure why the birds have left these alone – maybe they are too tart even for our avian friends? I know there are fans of crabapple jelly out there, it seems like kind of a green tomato thing to me but hey, whatever floats your culinary boat.

Raintree Nursery has a lot of crabapple varieties. They can be used as ornamentals, for their fruit (usually for preserves), and also as pollinators for regular apple trees.

Snow melting off crabapples

 

14 Responses to “Winter Crabapples”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Gorgeous crabapples! Love those red stems. That tree must be a sight to behold.

    • greenwalks Says:

      Michelle – There are two of those trees, small and kind of unremarkable at some times of year but right now they are show-stopper!

  2. Philip Says:

    I love the look of these. especially with the water on them!
    Philip

  3. Racquel Says:

    They do look lovely with the raindrops dripping from the berries. I was considering a crabapple for my garden at some point, hmmm something to consider.

    • greenwalks Says:

      Hi Racquel – That was melting snow, I should have said! Another photographer with a better camera would have made something really impressive of that, I’m sure. 🙂 If you get the right variety, I think a crabapple would be a fabulous addition to your garden. Flowers in spring, fruit in fall, nice shape (don’t look at mine for that!).

  4. Megan Says:

    I’m glad the birds are letting the fruit stick around for a while, it’s so pretty in the snow. I do always get tempted by crabapples when I see them like this.

    • greenwalks Says:

      Hello Megan – I don’t like my own crabapples but have seen some really nice ones elsewhere. Wonder if it’s the variety, poor care on my part, bad early pruning or ?? I think a small one would look lovely in your yard – and a way to provide a shot of color without too much in the way of pesky flowers.

  5. I love those photos…I’d rather be there in person. I used to have a crabapple tree in our yard when I was a child…I used to eat them and they were so, so sour! I haven’t seen a crabapple tree in years. There are probably some right in my area, but not in my yard:) I’ll have to be more observant!
    By the way, I don’t envy your weather. It’s cold enough for me here in VA!!
    Jan

    • greenwalks Says:

      Hello Jan – No, I wouldn’t wish our freezes, snow, floods, and lack of sun on anyone, although the Midwest and NE US folks and most Canadians probably consider us total wimps! Funny that you used to eat crabapples. Sometimes kids like super sour stuff, I used to take lemon slices in my gradeschool lunch until it started damaging the enamel on my teeth! If you look for trees in your neighborhood in the spring, they are so pretty then.

  6. James Says:

    Thanks for your comment, your blog is something to aspire to, lovely pictures

    • greenwalks Says:

      Hi James – You are welcome and thanks as well! Look forward to reading more of life in the garden in Edinburgh!

  7. Tyra Says:

    Beautiful pictures! I as well wonder why the birds have left them alone…mine are all gone!
    Have a great weekend/ Tyra

    • greenwalks Says:

      Hi Tyra – Thank you so much! I love hearing from you, makes the world seem smaller. No idea why the birds didn’t eat those crabapples – I’ll try to find out!


Leave a Reply

