Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day January 2009 January 15, 2009

This is my first time participating in GBBD, hosted by Carol of the wonderful May Dreams Gardens blog. I am a bit late to the party, but hope I can still join in.

January is not the finest month for showing off flowers in many climates, but most of us are lucky enough to have at least something nice to look at despite the winter blahs.

For me, January is always brightened by the arrival of my witch hazel’s flowers. I didn’t plant this tree (or is it a shrub? does anyone know how to tell the difference??), but it is the best thing I inherited from the previous gardener here. It is situated right outside our dining room window and gives me so much joy throughout the year with its multi-season interest.

Many witch hazels have cheery yellow flower tendrils, but mine are a deep orange, which I think I am very lucky to have. I couldn’t decide which photo to use, so I am including a few.

dscn53261

dscn5328

dscn5332

dscn5336

dscn5462

I look forward to seeing what others have found peeking out from under or floating above the dead leaves and snow today! And it’s always fun to see what the warmer-climate folks have going on too – it gives me a little hit of much-needed mid-winter warmth.

 

22 Responses to “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day January 2009”

  1. I love witch hazel…don’t know why in the world I don’t have any. It is sad when all you can find is lichen to photograph, ughh! Oh well I’ll just enjoy your pretty pictures!!! Kim

    btw, just added you to my blog roll, its about time I would say, lol!

  2. Molly Says:

    Oh, you are lucky. I planted a witch hazel about four years ago just so I’d have something blooming in January. It hasn’t bloomed yet. I think I need to move it to a sunnier spot.

  3. dianeschuller Says:

    That looks so pretty — it must be very warm where you live!

  4. Racquel Says:

    What a beautiful spot of color in January! I love the Witch Hazels and I need to add one to my garden next seaon so I can have some glorious winter blooms. Welcome to your first GBBD! 🙂

  5. Catherine Says:

    You are so lucky to have inherited the witch hazel. That is one shrub (I think) that I’m trying to find space for. I love the color of the flowers.

  6. gardenmentor Says:

    Fantastic use of one of the darker blossomed Witch Hazels. So often they disappear when set against dark evergreen backdrops. With the white building behind it, it really pops!

  7. jgh Says:

    Pretty! Do they get oranger the longer they’ve been in bloom?

  8. That’s so pretty and cheery! I’ll bet it looks especially good after all that snow. 😉

  9. fairegarden Says:

    You are a lucky girl to have a mature looking witch hazel, sort of tree, but yours do look like a shrub, maybe it depends on how it is pruned? The color is wonderful and being able to see it so close from the window is a real treat. Whoever planted it was wise in its placement.
    Frances

  10. Gail Says:

    Karen,

    It’s a lovely multi stemmed small tree! That’s the vase shape mine has and I really think it is a fine looking specimen for your garden. Thanks for stopping by C&L so I could see your lovely post! gail

  11. Dave Says:

    I hope one day our little witch hazels will look so nice! They might even be blooming this year if it weren’t for the deer. Your look great!

  12. Marie Says:

    Ooooooh, now I have witch hazel lust. I may have a place outside one of my windows. The list of plants I want to buy is growing! Oh dear.

    Thanks for the help with the Maui plant ID.

  13. Paula Says:

    Oh yes, I need to add this to my wish list. I have done Bloom Day in the past, but not prepared for this one, I’m afraid.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Paula

  14. Anneliese Says:

    I’ve been wanting a Witch Hazel for a while now. I’ll have to make sure I can find one that’s hardy to my zone. I’m absolutely certain it wouldn’t bloom in January for me, though.

  15. Michele Says:

    All the photos are great. They really show off the attributes of the plant. I like photo #2 the best. It shows the richness of the flower colors. I have always loved Witch Hazel. I think it is a very underused plant. I have a small/young one that blooms yellow. Don’t you think the flowers smell like fruit loops?

  16. Kanak Says:

    That splash of orange is pretty! I joined Bloom Day too and posted for the first time yesterday. Couldn’t resist with all the blooms on display.

    Have a lovely weekend!

  17. hayefield Says:

    A warm welcome to the Bloom Day tradition. How lucky that you had *anything* to post, let alone such a glorious witch hazel. Thanks ever so much for sharing it with us!
    -Nan

  18. Monica Says:

    Love the witch hazels. I have one tiny plant, but it looks, essentially, like a single twig stuck into the ground. So far! I’m trying to be patient. It’s nice to see what it will grow into.

  19. Melanthia Says:

    We added a witch hazel “Diane” to our property line garden in October/November. You may have actually suggested it! It’s nothing but buds right now. Is that bad?

  20. Daniel Mount Says:

    Tree?Shrub? I think the difference is in the branching/ trunking habit. Generally speaking most trees have a single trunk with branches starting well off the ground. Shrubs have a shorter trunk if any and multiple branches from the base. Witchhazel is definitely a shrub even though they are sometimes trained to have a single trunk. I love the orangey witchhazels too. Just the fire we need on these gray days.

  21. I would love to have some witch hazel in my garden somewhere. It’s on my list! Thanks for joining in for bloom day.

  22. Aerie-el Says:

    Witch hazel is on my wish list to buy at the NW Flower and Garden Show this year. There is a vendor who has had really nice, healthy ones in the past but I didn’t give in to my urges to purchase one then. I hope they will be there this year.

    On a totally different note, I’ve left a tag for you on my blog. Of course it’s up to you if you participate.


Leave a Reply

