Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Playing Tag January 18, 2009

Filed under: digressions,edibles — greenwalks @ 11:30 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I was never that into the game of tag as a kid. I hated being “it” and there always seemed to be an element of social aggression in that and many other playground games. My daughter must be a chip off the old block, since she doesn’t like these sorts of games either, and in fact often decides to opt out of playing them.

So when I was first “tagged” in the blogosphere, I totally flubbed it. There was only friendliness meant, but I couldn’t figure out if I wanted to do it and pass it on, hemmed and hawed and delayed, and in the end just lamely replied via a comment (sorry, Susan of The Bicycle Garden!) This time, I am going to do it right. Well, sort of. It seems that I am never quite able to play by the rules…

So, thank you to Aerie-el from Gardener’s Roost for inviting me to join in the game of “Photo Tag.” The rules are to go to the 4th folder in your computer where you store your pictures, select the 4th picture in that folder, explain the picture, then tag four people to do the same.

My digital photos are stored in alphabetically-ordered folders and are a big bone of contention in my household – there are way too many of them on the poor old computer and it’s getting very slow and sad as a result. Sorting through and archiving them is a big project for a quiet day that never seems to happen. I wonder if anyone else is in the same boat here? Digital cameras make it so easy to accumulate a frighteningly large number of images – I need to be more ruthless with my deletions but so far I’m not doing too well.

The 4th folder in my picture files is from October of 2006, when my folks made a long-anticipated trip to Italy and France and we went over to their place to do a few house and yard chores while they were away (kind of a miracle, given than the help almost always flows the other direction!). One of the things they asked us to do was to pick up and sort by variety the windfall apples that had accumulated since their departure. Our daughter, 3 1/2 years old at the time, got totally into the apple retrieval job – she was small enough to fit under the dwarf trees’ branches and could reach apples that were hard for the big people to get to. So, in the 4th photo of my “Apple Pick-up” folder, here she is all bundled up on a crisp fall day, about to go get another armload of fruit.

dscn1568

(Note the “footies” on the apples, a very labor-intensive but usually successful pest-protection method they started using a few years ago and that I have mentioned in a few previous posts.)

As for the final rule of this game of tag, I am going to steal an idea from another commenter on Aerie-el’s site and not designate the next four folks. If you have read this far and would like to participate, please consider yourself tagged!

 

8 Responses to “Playing Tag”

  1. What a sweet, sweet photo!

    And that’s funny that you interpreted the tagging that way–LOL! I agree with you about the children’s game of tag; I do think you’re right that there is an element of aggression to it. Whenever I remember playing it, what I remember most is being frustrated.

    I’m glad you got tagged this time, though, since it allowed us to share this photo memory with you. 🙂

  2. Catherine Says:

    Cute picture. Love her ladybug boots.

  3. Racquel Says:

    What a great pic of your daughter and the boots are priceless!

  4. Megan Says:

    I love your take on tagging. It’s an invitation, not an obligation. That takes the pressure off.
    Am I the only one who doesn’t have folders? I get my stuff on flickr and promptly delete it off my hard drive. I suppose in that case, you might do a 4th photo, 4th page?

  5. Unfortunately I have way too many folders filled with more photos than needed. I have a problem deleting things and staying organized in the files. It reminds me of what it’s like when my daughters closet and bedroom floor get out of control. It becomes painful to consider sorting it out so of course, it just becomes a bigger problem:) You aren’t alone in this area, I shamefully admit:(

    I got tagged for the same photo meme and haven’t posted yet. As I said, my photo files are messed up….! I also have never participated in a tag and haven’t been sure whether I want to or not. Yours was absolutely sweet. Your daughter is a cutie in those little boots!!

  6. Melanthia Says:

    Very cute photo Karen. My photos are chronological order since snaps are taken daily, of plants and child. I’ll have to poke around and see what I can find. Thanks for visiting my site. It’s nice to have “regulars.” I responded to your suggestions but then wasn’t sure if people go back to see responses. Anyway, love the ideas and will likely lean toward more veggies! Also, that is so not my parking strip! Mine is planted up although not as gorgeous as yours. I’m hoping the neighbors do something with their’s this spring, though. Cheers.

  7. Chloe M Says:

    Your daughter is too adorable – and what a lovely time she’s having.

    Lucky you to have access to an apple orchard!

    Chloe M.


Leave a Reply

