Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Streetberries, Winter Edition January 27, 2009

Filed under: neighborhood gardens,winter — greenwalks @ 9:41 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

These bright red berries, still clinging to their vine in mid-winter, were hanging over a retaining wall near my house when I walked by the other day. Does anyone know what they are?

dscn5544

It seems odd that they would have been left by hungry birds and animals – maybe they can’t reach them (they’re halfway down a very high and otherwise bare cement wall). Or are they poisonous? I hope they’re not Deadly Nightshade berries – this garden is quite close to both a preschool and an elementary school which many kids walk to and from every day. Eek.

In any case, I did enjoy seeing a bit of color on an otherwise gray and frigid morning. It’s snowing here again today for the umpteenth time this winter – I guess we’re just going to have to get used to it (or move back to California!)

 

8 Responses to “Streetberries, Winter Edition”

  1. Racquel Says:

    No idea, sorry! But it is odd that the birds didn’t gobble these up this winter. But they didn’t finish all the berries on my Viburnums either.

  2. Catherine Says:

    They look like they’d be tempting to birds. No idea what they are though.

  3. I’m not sure exactly but they could possibly be Mountain Ash berries. Not poisonous to birds, but definitely are to humans. Or of course, your first guess of Nightshade is possible as well.

    This winter is unusual. We don’t often get this much snow (nor this often) around here. But boy, sometimes I do dream of moving somewhere warmer!

  4. No clue, I’m afraid. But I would be suspicious of anything the birds didn’t eat…

  5. Aerie-el Says:

    That look like bittersweet nightshade. There is some good information on this link which might help you determine if it is for sure:
    http://www.kingcounty.gov/environment/animalsAndPlants/noxious-weeds/weed-identification/bittersweet-nightshade.aspx

  6. Michele Says:

    Yes, I too think they are nightshade. It looks like a vine.Those are bad and that would explain why no one has eaten them.

  7. Melanthia Says:

    I’ve seen some of those around Discovery. Great color but if deadly why bother! Let me know what you find out.

  8. Megan Says:

    I’ve successfully pulled all the deadly nightshade that I used to have in my yard, I wish I remembered when they had berries. This does look like it, though.


Leave a Reply

