Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Red Sedum February 2, 2009

Saw this one in a parking strip the other day, Sedum spathulifolium ‘Carnea.’ (I know some people think leaving plant tags in the ground is a little tacky, but I have to say I do it sometimes too, mostly because I’m such a terrible record-keeper and it’s the only way I can remember botanical names!)

Sedum 'Carnea'

This low-growing stonecrop has grey-green foliage for most of the year, funny little yellow flowers, and then this amazing garnet color show for winter. Sedums always seem like they should be desert plants to me, but this one is hardy from Zones 5-9. My plant bible says it takes full sun to part shade, is ‘vigorous’ and mat-forming, so maybe it’s a good one to plant where you don’t mind it stretching its roots a bit. Like, say, an urban parking strip… If I ever get my still-imaginary sedum garden up and running, this one’s got to be on my must-have list.

 

9 Responses to “Red Sedum”

  1. Melanthia Says:

    I like it, and oh boy could my parking strip use a lot of it! Hey did you want to meet up this week or just wing it?

  2. mothernaturesgarden Says:

    A lot of times I almost completely bury the tag near the plant so it is almost invisible but dig it up if needed. Anything that can turn red in winter is good for me.
    Donna

  3. I’m with Donna…if it’s colorful in winter, it’s worth trying it.

    I try to place my tags in the ground, (so I don’t forget the name of the plant) but I often forget to even put the tag in:/

    Then later, when I want to know where I have things planted, (because I’d like to add something new), I have no idea what is under the soil. I’m sometimes afraid to dig for fear of disturbing a plant that may not have sprouted at that point.

    I’ll try to remember this sedum! Hopefully I’ll remember to remember!!!

  4. Racquel Says:

    Beautiful color on that sedum. They are really great drought resistant plants for areas like you suggested.

  5. Gail Says:

    A lovely sedum…thank you so much for the info, it looks like a keeper sedum for winter interest and difficult spots…gail

  6. easygardener Says:

    It is a beautiful shiny red. Amazing how some innocuous plants suddenly surprise you with a burst of colour when you least expect it.

  7. I leave tags with my plants. One cannot always remember species or variety. I think it would be great if our greenspaces functioned more like arboreta.

  8. Grace Says:

    This is a beauty all right. I posted a picture of it on my blog a month or so ago. It’s not all that “vigorous” for me. But I still grow it. It’s endearing enough during the summer months but in the winter all obscurity is gone. I wish I could toss you a chunk right now so you wouldn’t have to buy it.

  9. Molly Says:

    Glad to see someone else acknowledge that they sometimes leave the tags in the ground or on the plant. I would never remember what I have if I didn’t do that.


Leave a Reply

