Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

First Crocus February 3, 2009

Filed under: flora,my garden — greenwalks @ 10:40 pm
Tags: , ,

Out doing some mid-winter cleanup on a sunny afternoon today, I was rewarded for doing tedious garden tasks by a glimpse of spring’s harbinger, the first crocus. I’m sorry, did I not sound excited enough? The first crocus, people!!!!!!!!!!!!!

First crocus of 2009

I planted this variety a few years ago and it has been a good repeat performer. I should have put a few more all together so they form a better clump. Then again, maybe I did but they got dispersed when I put a peony division in that spot this past fall.

In any case, I was delighted to see this little pale-purple face opened to the sun. (I believe I actually burst out with an embarassingly giddy gasp, and the thought of it brought back smiles for the rest of the day.) When I walked by later in the afternoon, the light and warmth had passed to another side of the garden and the flower had closed up shop for the day. I’m glad I went out when I did – otherwise, the first flower of spring might have come and gone without notice.

 

10 Responses to “First Crocus”

  1. Melanthia Says:

    Glad to hear you too enjoyed the repeat sunshine today. No crocus over here, yet. Planted in November and they’re only an inch out of the ground. Hope we have more warm weather Wed.

  2. easygardener Says:

    They love the sun don’t they. My first one has just opened. We are that little bit closer to seeing lots of spring flowers. Hurrah!

  3. jean Says:

    No crocuses at my house but I have one precious snow drop. Yippee! Everything else is looking very beaten up still.

  4. Kanak Says:

    Karen, I don’t understand why your photos are not showing up on my computer. This happened only recently.

    Although I can’t see the crocus, your enthusiasm can be felt here too! Good that you didn’t miss that lovely sight.

  5. Catherine Says:

    That is a great reward. This weather is so great. I’m heading back out to do some cleanup. Maybe I’ll find a reward like yours!

  6. Racquel Says:

    What a treat that you got the first harbinger of spring in your garden already! I went out a couple of days earlier this week when we had temps in the 60’s and did some gardening. Today it is cold, cold, cold so no yardwork for me.

  7. Megan Says:

    I believe our winter is over. I know, every February fools me, but still, I think spring is here.

  8. Susan Says:

    I am so jealous–probably two months at least until I see a crocus! I planted over 300 – but I planted them late, and then somebody dug a bunch of them up , took a bite out of each one. and left them scattered on top of the ground, so we’ll see how many come up.

  9. kristi Says:

    So pretty, I’m just now getting my first crocus. I fear I won’t have that many since they are a favorite for the local squirrels.

    • greenwalks Says:

      Hi Kristi – Great to see you back in the blogosphere. Oh man, don’t get me started on the squirrels. I managed to protect my bulbs this year, but then they had a field day with the flowers once they came up! Rrrrrrrrrrr.


Leave a Reply

