Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Winter Blooms for Valentine’s Day February 14, 2009

Filed under: flora — greenwalks @ 3:31 pm
Tags: , ,

Still not much out there to speak of as of February 14, but here are a few color-appropriate blooms etc. for my Valentine’s Day offering.

My viburnum is still putting out its little pink blossoms, they’ve been going for months now and are still super fragrant. Very imperfect looking as they get burned sometimes by the frosts; I wish I could post the smell, which is far superior!

Pink viburnum

I saw this gorgeous purple hellebore in a parking strip on a walk over a month ago. They come up early and bloom for a really long time. Can’t remember why I took a picture of the back, maybe too lazy (or cold) to take the trouble to walk into the street to see their faces?

Hellebore

Also saw this on the same walk, was assuming it’s a red-twig dogwood but the branches seem thicker than those on the ones I have. Any other guesses? I think I need to get one, whatever it is.

Red twigs

Purple tulips from the grocery store, too early for garden ones here yet but I was excited to see the points of a few species tulips poking out of the ground yesterday. That must mean spring is truly on the way!

Purple tulips

We only had Christmas cookie cutters so I picked up a couple of new ones in case we got around to making Valentine’s cookies. My daughter made an impromptu sculpture by balancing the princess crown on top of the double heart. I’m gonna have to get her a book on Calder or something.

Cookie cutter sculpture for Valentine's Day

Happy Valentine’s Day to all!

 

6 Responses to “Winter Blooms for Valentine’s Day”

  1. Catherine Says:

    I love your pink viburnum, they almost look like cherry blossoms. Happy Valentine’s Day!

  2. Tatyana Says:

    It’s a lot of blooms for such a little hellebores plant!
    Tatyana

  3. Megan Says:

    I can’t tell what the red twigs are, but you’re right, it’s terrific, one to add to the ever growing wish list. Maybe it’s…some other type of red twig dogwood?

  4. Tatyana Says:

    I appreciate your comment. Everything you said is so true.

  5. Daniel Mount Says:

    We are so lucky to have flowers outside for valentines day. And in all the appropriate colors.

  6. Alice Joyce Says:

    Happy Valentine’s … a day late. I want to say again how much I enjoy your blog and its concept. (Are you in Seattle?)
    FYI, I plunked down the tiniest rosemary sticks in a small strip of soil on the next door neighbor’s property along the street. Their house is oriented in the other direction – they changed the entrance at one time. So this neglected area was nothing but weeds when we moved to California. It was the rainy season, so conditions were right. I’d heard how easily things grew here in the Bay Area, but to look at the size of these bushy rosemary plants today, I still feel amazed.


Leave a Reply

