Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Doing the Show February 17, 2009

Filed under: garden shows — greenwalks @ 11:19 pm
Tags: , ,

I’m heading to what may be the last-ever Northwest Flower & Garden Show, taking place this week from Feb. 18-22 at Seattle’s Convention Center. “Doing the show” is always inspiring and exhausting in equal measures, and for a crowd-o-phobe like me, it takes a lot of deep breaths to get through it and manage to find it enjoyable. I always attend with my mom, and we usually check out the show gardens and merch areas as quickly as humanly possible, then escape upstairs to the relative peace of the seminar rooms and non-profit info booths.

This year, I will be looking at everything with extra-careful attention, since I want to bring back ideas not just for the garden but also for the blog. I’m also doing a “guest post” for the Garden Show’s own Flora’s Blog – in theory I need to whip it out and fire it off the same day that I attend the show, but we’ll see if my childcare situation (thanks, Dad!) allows for that.

I look forward to seeing others’ posts about the show too – there’s so much to see, I’m sure I’ll miss something really awesome but will at least get to read about it in the blogosphere.

newleaf

(Photo of New Leaf Creations’ 2009 Display Garden by Michael Walmsley, courtesy of the NW Flower & Garden Show)

 

10 Responses to “Doing the Show”

  1. Aerie-el Says:

    That is so cool that you’re writing a post about the show. I’ll look forward to reading it. And I’m looking forward to attending the NWF&G show…so sad that it is the last and final time.

  2. annetanne Says:

    On my ‘garden-show wishlist’ I do have lots of things…
    But the first one this spring, isn’t a real show, but the ‘open day’ at a nursery of native plants here in Belgium: it’ll be the first-ever meeting of the Flemish (= Dutch-speaking Belgians) wild-garden bloggers. I’m really looking forward to it.

  3. Matron Says:

    How I wish I was coming over for the Northwest Garden show. Sorry I shall miss it – looking forward to seeing your blog about it instead!

  4. Have a great time–and be sure to post a link to your guest blog!

  5. Catherine Says:

    Can’t wait to read what you saw. I’m anxious to go too, but we won’t go until Sunday. Have lots of fun. Will you put a link to your guest post so we can read it?

  6. Georgia Says:

    Congratulations in advance on the guest post. Let us know when it’s live. Also, have fun at the show.

  7. easygardener Says:

    I love these garden shows but they can be very exhausting. My problem is trying to see everything at once instead of stopping for a rest at intervals. It’s not as if I’m going to miss anything by taking a break but my brain falls into a frenzy, shouting go..go..go!

  8. Grace Says:

    I look forward to reading your post. I hope the crowds aren’t too much. (I’m a fellow crowd-phobe). I hope you find some great plant treasures and totally enjoy yourself. I’m with you in spirit.

  9. Jen Says:

    They have one of these at our community college and I miss it every year, so I’ll be glad to read about yours. It’s not the kind of thing you spend money at is it? Or do you just find out where to go to spend your money ? !

  10. Melanthia Says:

    What days are you going?


Leave a Reply

