Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Howdy, Tulip March 3, 2009

Filed under: flora,my garden — greenwalks @ 10:13 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

A couple of days ago, I checked the parking strip tulips I planted last fall and saw lots of foliage, some of it pleasantly stripy, but no flowers yet.

Tulip foliage, late February

It has been looking so desolate and muted out there, for so long, that I have been craving a jolt of color (of unknown and surprising hue, since I never did find the rest of my planting list for that time).

After years of planting tall-stemmed tulips and finding that they acted as annuals in my (previous) garden, I have mostly stuck to species tulips here. They push up earlier, are generally more reliable repeaters, and come in some pretty amazing colors to keep the color relay going after the crocuses run the lead-off leg. Whether it’s Kaufmaniana or greigii I know not (leaning toward greigii, since their leaves are often striped), but here is what greeted me yesterday when I went out to check.

First tulip, March 2

Hooray! Thanks, sun. It’s been great to see you for a few days, but we won’t get to used to you. We know you’ll go away for a while but will be back in, oh, July.

(I’m just going to go ahead and say right now that it’s going to probably continue to be a pretty lame week for me and el blog. Hope to be back up to speed pretty soon.)

 

16 Responses to “Howdy, Tulip”

  1. chris Says:

    Congratulations on the beautiful tulip! You don’t have to be a gardener to sense the anticipation of spring. And although we all know it’s still a ways away, Day Light Savings is coming up this weekend!!!

  2. Matron Says:

    We’ve had such a cold Winter here too! The bulbs are just starting to poke out. Only daffodils here at the moment.

  3. shibaguyz Says:

    We’re declaring it right here and now. Even if it snows and gets cold again, it is SPRING!! There… you may all go about your normal lives now… 😉

  4. Catherine Says:

    Those are very pretty, I really like the foliage. My tulips are nowhere near yours. They are just starting to come up.
    Remember that summer starts July 5th here 🙂

  5. Michele Says:

    The other great thing about the species tulips is that they are short and tend to hold up better to the rainy weather we get. I haven’t seen any color on mine yet, but they foliage is looking good!

  6. easygardener Says:

    I like species tulips too. They look more natural to me. Most of mine are in pots and the foliage is showing but no flowers yet. Much as I like spring yellows, whites and pale blues I could do with a dash of red or purple right now!

  7. oooo lovely – what a zing of colour I adore tulips – but you are so right the tall stemmed ones are often rubbish in the second year.
    K

  8. Jenny Says:

    Your tulips have a great start there, looks like. Love that color too. My mom gave me some beautiful “perennial tulip” bulbs. They were so huge – I’m anxious to see what they produce. Nothing but crocuses and daffs have poked up so far.

  9. Lovely tulips – don’t you feel like you would like to eat them? I totally understand the deer here, tulips do look so delicious!

  10. Melanthia Says:

    I didn’t know about the species tulips, thanks! Now I need to go find those that you mentioned. I have seen the striped variety, however. I always liek those. Last fall I planted a bunch of tulips I bought at the Arboretum sale. They’re just starting to emerge, clearly not any like yours.

  11. Megan Says:

    Holy springtime, Batman! There’s snow in our forecast this weekend, but I don’t buy it.

  12. Daniel Mount Says:

    Tacky is as tacky does. And tulips can be real tacky but not the lovely little species ones. The one you show is a greggii. I must admit, I love big old short-lived tacky tulips come April, they’re so happy. But super earlier tulips are downright inspiring. I have no tulips blooming any of my gardens yet, you must have a warm spot. Thanks for the inspiration. D.

  13. chris Says:

    Thanks for the heads up about the weird error message. Do you happen to know what the error message said?

    Looking forward to your next post!

  14. Nice looking tulips up and about. I like that squirrel book too. I love squirrels.

    Abraham Lincoln
    Brookville, Ohio

  15. I like species tulips also for their tenaciousness. Besides the really long stemmed ones just get blown over here.

    Thanks for the shot of the newly emerged beauty! kim

  16. Racquel Says:

    I’ve never tried species Tulips but will have to give them a try in my garden. How pretty & I like the stripes on the foliage. 🙂


Leave a Reply

