Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Skywatch Friday – My First One March 6, 2009

Moon over contorted filbert branches

(In the interest of full disclosure, I must admit that this picture was actually taken earlier this week – I hope this doesn’t disqualify me from participating in the official SkyWatch Friday deal.)

I don’t take too many sky shots, but I noticed the moon rising while I was under my contorted filbert (Harry Lauder’s Walking Stick) attempting to prune out its straight suckers. It was an un-fun task that I did rather poorly, but at least I was rewarded by a glimpse of the moon’s pale face on a warm late-winter day.

Here in Seattle, the sky was clear and blue again today. It was frosty this morning, and an unseasonably late snow is predicted for tomorrow. I’ll believe it when I see it, but for now I’m happy to be taking in the sun, the moon, and the unclouded sky.

Happy Friday!

 

17 Responses to “Skywatch Friday – My First One”

  1. Michele Says:

    Very creative! I love it!

  2. Michele Says:

    Oh, and too funny that we both think the snow prediction is a farse! Us Northwesterners know better.

  3. Gail Says:

    Your first Skywatch Friday is great! I love to see trees against the blue skies. I noticed the moon today when I was out in the yard, Gail

  4. Grace Says:

    Not to be a know-it-all or anything but I looked at your photo then mentally compared it to the moon I saw a few minutes ago while I was freezing my %*@# trying to finish up a few last minute garden tasks. The version you have depicted is a few tiny inches smaller than tonight’s. Still, I think your photo is totally cool especially with the HLWS and its decorative tassels.

    It can’t possibly snow again, can it??

  5. chris Says:

    A beautiful photograph! At first glance I wasn’t sure if it was a photo or painting!?

  6. Tyra Says:

    Good Morning Seattle, what a pretty photo, the colors are wonderful and the contrast branch and sky makes it very nice.

    Greetings from Vaxholm/Tyra

  7. Jen Says:

    Cool – looks like a sculpture!

  8. Bonnie Story Says:

    Hello! Great Skywatch pic. Really captures the personality of the seasonal moment. I hope we don’t get tooooo much snow – I live up at about 500′ near the Hood Canal and usually if anyone get it, we do. And I just picked up my bare-root native plants yesterday from Kitsap Conservation! They will just have to wait until the gardener (that would be me) feels more comfy digging holes outside. Yesterday was spot-on gorgeous! Happy Skywatching!! Bonnie

  9. chris Says:

    Yes the red hot pokers on craigslist were free! A women in the fremont area had dozens of them. Craigslist can be a great resource for finding free plants. The next month or so is an especially good time as gardeners get back in the yard for a little spring cleaning.

    Running the gardening club for kids is lots of fun and the kids really enjoy it. Our club is meeting this next Wednesday and I’m hoping to build a raised bed or two and get some peas in the ground. Probably not the kids favorite veggie but I imagine they be more inclined to eat them since they grew them. Hey, maybe that’s a good way to get kids to eat their vegetables!

  10. Thanks for visiting my blog. I don’t see that the sky watch picture has to be taken on that Friday. Some send in pictures from a long time ago. I tend to send in the best of the week.

    Now this is a lovely way to start on SWF. Very artistic and such lovely colours too. Welcome from me.

  11. Catherine Says:

    Very nice picture! It sure has been nice hasn’t it? As of right now, no snow!
    I love those walking sticks. They are one of the most interesting plants to me this time of year. Hope the weatherman is wrong as usual here!

  12. Melanthia Says:

    You’re teasing me aren’t you? Kidding, very cool photo. I love moon shots.

  13. Matron Says:

    Sky blue is such a wonderful colour. Just make sure that you arrange some more for my visit!

  14. chris Says:

    Karen – Take a look on Craigslist in the sub-category, “farm+garden”. If you search “japanese maple” there’s one in W. Seattle for free. Only thing is you’ll need some heavy machinery to remove it!!

    Maybe you have a gardening friend who would be interested?

  15. Welcome to SWF!!!

    LOVE your photo, and it doesn’t matter when it was taken. I usually post something from the week, but sometimes I don’t get a picture on a week and use something old. The only thing that matters is that there is sky, which yours definitely has, and in SUCH an interesting manner. Hope you return!

  16. Sue Says:

    Great SkyWatch pic! I’ve noticed several regulars, including some of the hosts, sometimes post pics from earlier in the week or even from long ago.

  17. Aerie-el Says:

    A first skywatch post, and congrats on the mighty fine one it is!
    It is snowing like crazy here tonight (Saturday), and although I’m a fan of 4 seasons, I’m sick of winter now. Sick. of. it.
    Stay warm and enjoy the weekend!


Leave a Reply

