Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

March Madness March 7, 2009

Filed under: snow,winter — greenwalks @ 9:02 pm
Tags: , ,

The scene outside about an hour ago:

Snow again?!?

Susan of The Bicycle Garden commented on my previous winter-whine post (not that long ago, maybe just over a week?) that snow has been like a bad penny for me this year. I think this is true for the entire population of Seattle (with the exception of the ski crowd, of which I am not a member), and probably Portland and Vancouver too as well as everyone in between. Even a majority of my daughter’s kindergarten class voted recently that they are tired of snow.

Tonight’s storm started with sleet, moved to snow, and threw in a little thunder and lightning for good measure. And of course I forgot until it was over to go and shelter all the nice little plants I bought yesterday at the nursery. Oops. One of the flats is visible in this photo.

Snowing on March 7

I fully realize the futility of railing against weather. But if we are going to have to put up with so much of this white crap each succeeding winter, I’m going to have to think about moving back to California!

 

11 Responses to “March Madness”

  1. Melanthia Says:

    Did I know you were from CA? I was born there. Funny. This snow is crazy. I ran into it on my way to the KC plant salvage in Issaquah/Samammish area. I hope your new plants are OK!

  2. Matron Says:

    Please can I ask you to do your best to make the snow go away before I visit Seattle?

  3. Megan Says:

    I was hoping to see some snow down here, but it missed us. Looks like we could get frost tomorrow and tuesday, but that’s all the weather action we are going to get. I guess I should be ready for spring, but I still get excited to see the flakes fall.

  4. Bonnie Story Says:

    Well, I would not want to move back to CA, not for love or money, but my husband is starting to campaign for our “snowbirding” it – fleeing the winter completely for some warmer clime… I’m OK with the snow, really I am, I think… no, actually I’m not. At least it’s not demanding to be shoveled, now that is misery. Fingers crossed for your new plants!! — Bonnie

  5. Catherine Says:

    When kindergartners are tired of snow, you know there’s been too much 🙂
    The sun seems to be coming out now, it can’t possibly snow again can it?

  6. Racquel Says:

    It’s okay to whine a bit when winter drags on like it has in your area. Hope your plants survived there snow ordeal. 🙂

  7. Paula Says:

    I just hope it is decreasing the slug, bad bug, disease garden population!

  8. Stupid groundhog…I am definately tired of the snow thought I wouldn’t have to see this stuff after I moved back here from Denver.

  9. Michele Says:

    I hear ya! I have a few pots of garden peas sitting on the patio ready to go into the ground but the weather just hasn’t cooperated. I managed to get out yesterday and take advantage of the extra hour at the end of the day and weed a bed. The ground was a bit wet for weeding, but it looks better. Do you keep mason bees? I noticed some of mine have come out and three of my holes are partially mudded up. I can’t believe they are out yet, but I guess it got warm enough.

  10. Jen Says:

    Oh man, I think if this happened to me right now I would just scream!!! I finally started digging yesterday but only got a couple of inches in before I hit frozen tundra. Maybe I jumped the gun. Hope you warm up fast! In the meantime, feel free to whine away.

  11. I can attest to the Vancouver/Portland area being sick of the white stuff also…bleck…double bleck!

    I’m ready for some sun, darn it!!! Kim


Leave a Reply

