Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Trees of Seattle’s Queen Anne Hill March 11, 2009

Since I never, ever (okay almost ever), get around to any of my planned Part II’s, I’m going to just put up my tree photos from last week’s Queen Anne Hill wanderings today and try not to feel too bad about my uncertainty or downright lack of knowledge about their correct identification. Maybe some of you can help me out here – I guarantee anyone who tries a big virtual pat on the back and an A for effort! (This is a pretty oddball bunch, I just realized. What can I say, I love the variety and wackiness of Seattle’s urban landscape!)

This was one of the most elegant trees I saw that day – a mature dwarf Japanese maple, right there in the parking strip. Its leaves have been left to carpet the grass, it looks like a nice soft place to take a nap.

Mature dwarf Japanese maple

This looked like a holly but without the sharp leaves, and it was tree-shaped, not shrub-looking. Is it a holly or something else?

Holly tree

Some type of pine (Mugo, maybe?), sprawling a bit on the corner.

Corner pine

Oh dear, pruning horror! Reminds me of those scary trees on the 70s TV show, H.R. Pufnstuf. Yes, I’m showing my advanced age here.

Pruning horror

Not sure if this was a radical rehab job or the prelude to taking the tree down entirely. I’m hoping the former, so maybe the bird feeder is a good sign.

Pruning horror II

This one shows the age of the neighborhood. I’m glad they’ve kept it, despite a somewhat odd placing. Cedar?

Stately sentry tree

Someone’s backyard tree did not like the recent windstorm. A large branch had broken off and was hanging over the fence.

Willow branch breakage

Upon closer inspection, the tips of the downed section were covered with these:

Downed pussy willows

I took the opportunity to liberate a few twigs that I imagine were headed for the chipper. Not my style usually to filch from someone else’s garden, but since it was already dead, I hope it was okay. I couldn’t resist those incredibly cute, fuzzy catkins! The tree seemed too tall to be a pussy willow shrub. Any guesses here?

Urban trees live a tough life. I’m glad these ones (well, the better cared-for of them) are making a go of it.

 

8 Responses to “Trees of Seattle’s Queen Anne Hill”

  1. RainGardener Says:

    Great trees. Don’t know what the fuzzies are. Interesting.

  2. Racquel Says:

    Interesting trees. I like the Japanese Maple, even without leaves it has a nice form.

  3. Jen Says:

    Sorry I’m not able to help with identifying – I did enjoy looking at these trees though. I wonder if those pretty fuzzy things are early cones of some kind?

  4. Catherine Says:

    I’m not that great at id’ing trees. That’s some interesting pruning on a couple. I always love the Japanese maples.
    By the way I clearly remember HR Pufnstuf too!

  5. Gail Says:

    I haven’t as clue…but trees in neighborhoods are always interesting. Unfortunately people still believe in topping trees! Like you I do hope that isn’t the case with the topped looking tree you’ve shown! We have a neighbor who keeps cutting down all evergreens on his property for a really giant expanse of grass…He would have zeroed in on the beautiful cedar! gail

  6. Michelle Says:

    I’m no help either with ID. That maple will be gorgeous when it leafs out, although it is pretty when naked too. And those bad pruning jobs… ouch!

  7. annetanne Says:

    I don’t know about holy in America, but our native Holy here in Belgium (I mean just the plain Ilex aquifolium, not cultivated varieties) only has dentate leaves when it is young. When it grows older, it doesn’t ‘need’ that protection anymore.
    And yes, our native Ilex is a tree, not a shrub…

    Garden varieties of Ilex however, do have dentate leaves even when they are older.
    Some gardenvarieties too, have no or less spiky leaves (like Ilex C. van Toll).

  8. The only thing I can ID are is the chorus: “H.R. Pufnstuf,
    Who’s your friend when things get rough? H.R. Pufnstuf. Can’t do a little cause he can’t do enough. ”

    You’re not showing your age. You’re showing mine.


Leave a Reply

