Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Eh, What’s That You Say? March 19, 2009

Filed under: garden art — greenwalks @ 10:30 am
Tags: , , ,

What, you think gnomes are tacky? They should all be gathered up and smashed to bits and the pieces used to make slug traps? Well, I’m kind of with you on that, but my daughter had other ideas. At least he’s in a spot that nobody but us can see. Oh oops, I just blew our cover.

Hard-of-hearing gnome

Busy times for me the next few days, so I may not be too present here or on others’ sites. Hope everyone has a good weekend, when it gets here!

 

13 Responses to “Eh, What’s That You Say?”

  1. easygardener Says:

    The Royal Horticultural Society has always banned garden gnomes from the Chelsea flower show on grounds of bad taste. I have never understood why – there are plenty of rubbish garden decorations and sculpture that they do allow. Some of it costing thousands of pounds!
    Live and let live I say. I’m not a particular fan of garden gnomes but I do have one. Someone bought it as a joke and I’ve kept him. It would be cruel to cast him out (lol).
    Yours looks very sweet.

  2. annetanne Says:

    Your posts reminds me of the gnomes my son received as a holiday-present from my MIL. He got three of them, and I thought I had seen standing in the border, snowcovered, in January. But now I see them nowhere?
    Normally, I do not like gnomes, but this trio wasn’t bad… not colored, just glazed terracotta… I wouldn’t buy them myself, but it could look funny, the three of them together, in some corner of the border…

  3. Catherine Says:

    Gnomes remind me of my grandparents garden. Yes, we have some small ones in my garden. My girls have fun moving them around.

  4. Melanthia Says:

    No gnomes here, but we’ve got a fat plastic cat, a gazing ball turtle and a couple hiding children statues. all gifts I can’t bring myself to toss and all in the back yard.

  5. Kristi Says:

    My garden is gnome free that I know of but it’s nice that your daughter wants to contribute. I do have a wonder woman figurine in one of my pots though.

  6. Michele Says:

    I love gnomes and the placement of yours is very cute!

  7. chris Says:

    Wasn’t a big fan of gnomes until I saw how much my son enjoyed them. Interesting to see a garden through a child’s eyes.

  8. Racquel Says:

    I guess one gnome in the garden isn’t hurting anything Karen. Especially if your daughter is fond of him. Looks like he has a good place to hide. 😉 Have a nice weekend, see ya when you get back.

  9. Aerie-el Says:

    The petals surrounding your gnome tells his story–he must have stopped there for the heavenly scent!
    Sadly, no gnomes here. But when we moved in, the previous owners left some stylish plastic garden figures of Snow White and the 7 Dwarfs. They have since moved on to find a new home.

  10. bettyl Says:

    I vote FOR gnomes! We have one that was originally fishing in our pond. Lately the Hubby has been talking about making him part of the fountain. You can guess what he has in mind, I’m sure.

    Disclaimer: I personally like gnomes that just sit quietly and look at you. I have no involvement in any transformation that will occur to our gnome.

  11. Molly Says:

    My gnome is actually really tacky because it’s made of plastic resin. But I love it.

  12. Megan Says:

    I don’t love gnomes either, but I have two. One I had to take because it belonged to my grandmother. The other, a gift, because someone saw the first and thought it meant I collected them. Hope it’s not a trend. I’ll have to draw the line somewhere.

  13. carlalazzarini Says:

    I know I’m a little late chiming in here, but I just had to enter my garden gnome, “Miggins” into the discussion. I recently did a couple of posts about him and then saw your post and all the comments! I am on the fence about gnomes in general- it totally depends on the individual gnome… Take a look at my little guy and see why I’m a bit biased when it comes to THIS garden gnome! PS- thanks for the fun reading lately- love your blog!


Leave a Reply

