Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Buddies March 21, 2009

Filed under: flora,my garden — greenwalks @ 10:33 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Oh, finally, Spring has arrived and not a moment too soon! Yes, I know the Equinox was on Friday, but I’m chronically behind schedule here.

Much is about to happen in the garden, as the plants finally feel like our horrid winter has left for good (did I just jinx us into a freak spring snowstorm? I hope not!) and they get down to business.

Flower and leaf buds soon to unfurl, if all goes well:

Clematis armandii flower buds

Clematis armandii, with awful-looking frost-burned foliage – if the flowers don’t bloom well and redeem the plant this year, I think it’s going to get the boot.

Peony sprouting

A transplanted peony pushing its freaky shiny red leaves up through the untidy back garden bed. When I divided this last fall, I might have made the chunks too small (I just read that they need at least a few eyes per division or they won’t bloom – can’t remember but I probably only left one).

Mystery bulbs

Mystery bulb, I probably planted it last fall but it wasn’t on the part of the list that turned up. Maybe bellevalia? Should look like grape hyacinth, if so.

Daphne odora blossoms finally starting to open

Daphne odora finally, finally opening its blossoms after what seems like months in the bud stage. Foliage looks a little sad, but I think it’s going to be okay.

Rosemary battling back after a hard winter

The giant rosemary is blooming despite having lost a good percentage of its branches to frost and snow. This one took a licking but kept on ticking. Can I say that without getting sued by Timex?

Which of your buddies are getting ready to bust out?

 

15 Responses to “Buddies”

  1. Daffodil, salvia, irises…

  2. Jen Says:

    Every day I expect a daffodil and every day, nothing. I brought some flowering tree branches in to force yesterday, I’m getting really desperate! Your clematis really looks like it could redeem itself. Peony fingers are freaky aren’t they?

  3. All of those are looking great, even the overly-divided peony with its freakishly shiny red leaves. I like the idea of giving plants the boot if they don’t perform. Can I use it in my morning lecture? “Okay, plants, listen up. Things are going to change around here. Those of you that don’t perform are going to get the boot.” In case you can’t tell, I like how you write.)
    –Kate

  4. Ronnie Says:

    Peonies! We had them on the farm in Michigan…I don’t think I’ve seen them in San Francisco…do they need a dormant winter period? Hmm.

    PS: Thanks for the grammar correction. Alas is a term for pity or concern, au contraire re: the Obamas! I must have been on my 2nd(or 3rd or…) glass o’ wine or just really energetic from re-designing my garden yesterday, hehe.

  5. Catherine Says:

    It looks great there!! Your clematis buds are much further than mine, I think you should give it a chance. My daphne looks very sad, I have a picture of it on my blog. It’s embarrassing 🙂

  6. Megan Says:

    Oh, good luck little clematis!

  7. easygardener Says:

    I hope the clematis survives, it is one of my favourites.
    I’ve got lots of different spring bulbs flowering at the moment as well as Hellebores, Quince, Daphne, Celandines, and Pulsatilla – real multiple flowering has finally begun!

  8. Michele Says:

    It’s nice to see what’s blooming in your garden. I can practically smell the Daphne!

  9. Nice photos. The clematis buds look nice and robust. I hope they do well for you. If the peonies did not have enough buds, will they eventually catch up, or are they doomed to no blooms forever? I hope not! Love the slow-poke Daphne, and the blue mystery flower.

  10. Jendi Says:

    It’s been nice to walk around with the kids and find the tulips pushing up. The crocuses are blooming, and the daffodils are about 4 inches high. Spring is here!

  11. kris at t.m. Says:

    The other trick to peonies is planting depth – if the eye wasn’t more than 2″ below the soil at planting time, you might still get a flower this year. And if that Clematis disappoints, I’ll be surprised – it looks loaded!

  12. Daniel Mount Says:

    I think the bulb is a chionodoxa. It feels great to see all the little opening buds everywhere. Thanks for sharing yours. Maybe one day a trip to Vashon. Good Nurseries there.

  13. Looks like spring! I sure like the foliage on the Daphne.

  14. Cynthia Says:

    There are not enough signs of spring yet in my garden. I was able to take a walk around in it during a break in the rain on Saturday and you would still think it was early February out there! My plants are creeping along but then again it has still been pretty chilly. In fact the weather forecast is for snow tonight- grrr!

    The clematis buds certainly look promising and I love the peony peeking out. That is one thing I love about spring- finding all the plants re-emerging.

  15. BOB Says:

    Karen, great meeting you at the SAGBUTT meeting.
    Yes, I do look similar to Augusten. I’ve never heard of him before.
    But I can see why you would see the resemblance. I’ll have lots of starts at the next meeting.

    All the best. BOB


Leave a Reply

