Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Beach Bound March 31, 2009

Filed under: digressions — greenwalks @ 4:31 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

We’re heading to the Washington coast for a few days. My family nearly always went there for spring break when I was growing up – I remember it as wild and stormy, often soggy, occasionally boring and mostly magical. Now I am passing along this tradition to my daughter, I hope she enjoys it and isn’t too jealous of her friends who are heading off to warmer climes.

I’m debating about whether or not to take a laptop – it would be kind of nice to have a few days’ break from the 24 hr. news cycle and I know it would be hard to resist the temptation to spend half of the vacation looking at garden blogs. Then again, I hate to get too behind, it’s hard to catch up!

Hope you all have a good rest of the week.

Moon snail shell (partial)

(Moon snail shell, Discovery Park beach, Seattle)

 

8 Responses to “Beach Bound”

  1. Have fun! I do love that NW coast…

  2. Grace Says:

    Just be sure to dress warm. Duh. I’m sure you already know this. Maybe you should leave your laptop at home to avoid that weird worm/virus thing. 🙂

  3. Melanthia Says:

    It’s always windy and rainy when we visit the coast. But great kite flying weather! Enjoy. I’m trying to decide if I’ll take a laptop during our vacation in a couple weeks.

  4. Catherine Says:

    Have fun and I hope the weather cooperates! It’s so beautiful there!

  5. Paula Says:

    Oh, have fun! I has just given a recommended hike over there and need to make a visit.

    Take the camera, leave the computer!
    Enjoy! – Paula

  6. Jen Says:

    Have a great trip Karen – looking forward to seeing some photos when you get back. We’re going to Washington, DC next week. I always try to resist bringing the computer with me, but even when I leave it home, I always manage to find one somewhere – go figure.

  7. Have a great week, Karen; it will be interesting to see if you chose or not to take your computer… 🙂

  8. So here it is, the 2nd of April, and I wonder if you are reading this today;-) I really hope you left the laptop at home…we are all too addicted to these things. Of course they’re nice but taking a break might be a healthy thing!

    Have fun!


Leave a Reply

