Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Another Mystery April 7, 2009

Filed under: flora — greenwalks @ 8:03 am
Tags: , , ,

I think I really should have named this blog “The Ignorant Gardener.” Or was that already taken? It seems I have a real talent for planting things and then forgetting their names. I’m not talking just varieties, more like entire species. Case in point, yet again:

Another mystery bulb

This was part of my bulb haul from the UW Arboretum last fall. I thought I’d written down everything and posted it here, but this one is eluding me. Could it be some kind of fritillaria? I did get a mixed bag of those, but the others are snakeshead and look completely different, including the foliage. Hm. Any thoughts?

I like these, whatever they are, so I want to get more for next year. They provided a nice color/shape contrast to the big loud orange-red tulips that were blooming just up the way in the parking strip.

Of course the solution to all of this ignorance would be to keep better records (duh) but also to start building a map of what is where. Does anyone have software they like for this? Does it even exist? Or do you just draw it out freehand? I have tried bringing notebooks out with me but they always get so mud-bespattered that they become illegible very quickly. In theory this blog should be a way to keep better track, but when I’m planting bulbs, taking a picture of bare dirt with the crumpled dirty bulb bag next to it just doesn’t seem to do the trick (I tried). How do you map your garden?

 

11 Responses to “Another Mystery”

  1. Racquel Says:

    Wish I could help with the id of these unique beauties. Sorry!

  2. Ginger Says:

    I got some of those at the bulb sale, too! It’s a tulipa, can’t remember which one, though. I remember getting it because I was intrigued by the multi-bloom stems. Tulipa turkestanica, maybe?
    I tell myself that I prefer to be surprised by what comes up, and I’m just exercising my brain by doing Google Image searches to figure out what things are……. heh.

  3. easygardener Says:

    Yes I too think it is Tulipa turkestanica. Mine have just finished flowering. It’s a species tulip and very pretty.

  4. Jen Says:

    Well, if you just want to call them “a tulip”, you’d be right! I’ve been saving the nursery markers when I put plants in so at least I have the variety name somewhere. doesn’t always help with bulbs cause I don’t keep their packaging. Have you tried Foglia?

    You asked about the trough in our school greenhouse. It’s there to make the plants easy to reach for the kids and also (hopefully) cut down on the need to buy starter kits. I hope it’s ready for seed starting soon!

  5. Cynthia Says:

    Pretty flower Karen. Wish I could help you id it but I really do not know what it might be. It does make me think of a tulip though. I’m horribly guilty of this very same thing. You would think I would learn too but of course I don’t! 😉

  6. Catherine Says:

    It’s very pretty. Don’t you love being able to post a picture and have people identify things for you? I sure do 🙂 I am completely disorganized with what is where. I move them so frequently I never know where some things end up. I keep the tags and walk around matching them up to plants.

  7. Grace Says:

    I concur with the others, a species tulip of some kind. Beautiful.

    I practice overkill with my plant cataloging and still can’t keep things straight. 🙂 One of the things I do is keep a running list on my computer. When I go shopping, I bring the tags inside or take a paper and pen outside. I write down genus, species cultivar of each plant, where I bought it and the date. Then I type this info (alphabetical by genus) to my list. At present my list is 12 pages long, single spaced with the number 10 font. I don’t map my garden. I’m already nutty enough. 🙂

  8. RainGardener Says:

    Karen, I’m no help either but I think maybe I’ve seen it and they are right about the tulip. In answer to your software question. I do believe there is a program where you can do diagrams and everything. I know they have it for landscaping so what would be the difference. I use to have an index with everything I had and when it was purchased, what it liked and even what page it was on in my Western Gardener book. Then I got a computer and the disk didn’t fit so I quit. Now I do like Grace bring tag in or go out and write – then lose list. LOL

  9. Megan Says:

    Funny, I have much the same picture I took this weekend when I came across this sweet little thing in someone else’s yard I walked past.
    I carry my camera in my purse so it’s with me all the time. When I’m interested in a plant I see, I snap a picture of the sign/tag, so even if I bought a bulb, I have a saved picture of what I bought, without any labor intensive note taking. I usually just transcribe stuff into flickr once I get a picture of the plant in my yard, but there’s also a web site called EverNote, where you can upload images of text, and it makes the text in your picture searchable. That’s like magic.

  10. jean Says:

    This is a beautiful plant. Do we need to know what everything is called? Sometimes I get tired of beating myself up for not remembering (or caring?) about the names of things. Don’t be hard on yourself. You have a fabulous flower in your garden. Thanks for sharing it.

  11. Georgia Says:

    How about Sketch-Up? I think it’s available through Google (of course).


Leave a Reply

