Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Aliens Have Invaded My Laundry Room April 17, 2009

Filed under: veggies — greenwalks @ 1:41 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Some very odd-looking creatures have landed on my dryer.

Odd laundry

These ones only look a little scary.

Yukon gold seet potatoes "chitting"

The others are a bit more frightening-looking, with their purple tentacled eyes.

"Chitting" blue potatoes

I hope they’re friendly!

Not your typical eggs

(Yukon Gold and Peruvian Blue potatoes from Irish Eyes Garden Seeds “chitting” in advance of being planted, typically late. Still trying to figure out what to plant them in, container and soil wise, as I don’t have a bed that’s suitable. Maybe I should actually read the Potato Growers’ Guide provided by Irish Eyes, duh.)

 

10 Responses to “Aliens Have Invaded My Laundry Room”

  1. Melanie Says:

    hahaha! too cute!

  2. RainGardener Says:

    Too funny Karen. Hope they taste good.

  3. Catherine Says:

    Those purple ones are especially alien like. Heather from Idaho Small Goat Garden has potato bags in her post today, maybe they would work.

  4. Cynthia Says:

    Hi Karen- I keep meaning to get some potatoes planted but time keeps slipping by. My local nursery has some I was “eyeing” about 2 weeks ago and hadn’t even thought about growing this year until I walked past them. So now I want to grow potatoes which I have never done before. Thanks for the link- maybe it will help steer me in the right direction if I end up planting some.

  5. Sue Says:

    That’s interesting. I never do that. I just cut them into a few pieces, and try to let them dry until the next day, but this year, I planted them as soon as I cut them, because it was about to rain. I hope we both get a good crop!

  6. Too funny! Just set them on the ground and put straw on them- then as the plants grow up through the straw, and more straw! A friend of mine grows them this way (I think a light layer of straw on top of the soil, then potatoes, then straw.) and when it’s time to harvest them she just uses a pitchfork and removes the straw to reveal clean potatoes!

    For me, I grew them accidentally! I was making a new bed- the lasagna way and through kitchen scraps on a patch of soil, some tater peelings were among the scraps. Before I knew it we had sweet baby red potatoes! I’m accidentally growing them this year too. Funny, I never watered, weeded, or paid any attention to this area at all! I just covered kitchen scraps with a little soil- that’s it.

  7. Grace Says:

    I see homegrown mashed potatoes in your future. Yum.

  8. Racquel Says:

    I’ve never grown potatoes before Karen, but Tessa’s method sounds good with the straw. Good luck!

  9. Kristi Says:

    Wow, that’s so cool and creative. I’ve never tried to grow potatoes. But after reading Animal, Vegetable, Mineral by Barbara Kingslover, I’m wishing I had. They really go into detail on why you should grow your own potatoes.

  10. Missy Says:

    hey hoo
    good luck with the potatoes
    I just started one in my windowsill garden

    how about this idea for growing in small space
    http://tipnut.com/grow-potatoes/

    if only I had a yard


Leave a Reply

