Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Urban Fauna April 29, 2009

Filed under: fauna — greenwalks @ 9:15 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

In the city of Seattle, we are pretty much accustomed to co-existing with creatures great and small, wild and tame. In the course of a single day, it’s unremarkable to see a wide variety of birds, insects, marsupials and rodents, as well as the usual variety of domestic pets.

It’s easy to get a bit jaded when there are eagles and herons close by and hummingbirds buzzing around the backyard on a daily basis. So you walk around and see these

Squirrel looking for acorns in spring

and some of these

City chickens free-ranging

evidence of moles unseen

Molehills

hilariously wide cat posing in front of restored door

Big kitty and beautiful door

Nothing too out of the ordinary. But then, on a drive to see friends in the southern part of town but still within city limits, something a little different:

Cow in the city?!

Huh?! I know that Seattle just made it legal to own pygmy goats, but I hadn’t heard about cows! Turns out this is a family farm that has been passed down through generations and is one of two remaining designated farm plots in the city. I guess that’s one way to rid your grass of dandelions! Wonder if it makes the milk taste funky?

What’s the most unusual creature you ever saw in a city?

 

13 Responses to “Urban Fauna”

  1. A cougar! That is as long as you call Spokane a city (I know some Seattleites see the east side of the state as one big farm). Anyway there really was a cougar wandering around the South Hill (residential area very close to downtown – kind of like Capitol Hill). I (thankfully) can’t remember how they got rid of him. I’ll just remember it as they collected him and took him to a safe place.

  2. Grace Says:

    Well, they aren’t that unusual, unless they’re in my front yard. That would be a deer family–as many as 5 !! They wander the nearby woods and occasionally saunter up to my neighborhood but until recently, completely ignored my property. One day I came home to the entire family munching on the offerings in my rock garden. It was weird to see them in such close proximity. Sorry I’m not very creative.🙂

  3. Gail Says:

    Seattle has always sounded like a great place to live! This confirms it…goats in the city! gail

  4. shibaguyz Says:

    Lots of coyotes over here as well as an occasional serval. Yup… servals in West Seattle. You asked… we got ’em. It is believed someone was illegally raising these African cats over here and just let them all loose. Fun, huh?

  5. Racquel Says:

    Their was a group of deer eating grass right outside of Walmart one day (there is a wooded spot). That was a bit strange and of course I didn’t have my camera!😉

  6. Jen Says:

    Did you notice the circle of short grass around the horse where he’s been eating? A multipurpose appliance for all your lawn mowing and weed control needs! I love fat cats (just not the Wall St. kind)

  7. Jen Says:

    Sorry I meant cow! — not horse.

  8. Megan Says:

    I get excited at just about any animal I come across. Seeing pigs in a Brooklyn apartment was definitely a highlight, but I’ve seen them in yards in Portland, too. My favorite pigs ever I came across in texas, and there were tiny babies I got to pet! I’ve seen goats on leashes in downtown Portland, and my mom has coyotes running by her house pretty regularly, right in a city neighborhood in NE Portland. And I once saw a fox in the botanical garden in Montreal. I just love all the animals. I’m sure I’ll think of more.

  9. Carol Says:

    So glad I found your blog! Great Ideas! I have always wanted to visit Seattle and what a lovely way through your eyes and choices of your local scenery. So from Western Massachusetts a big Thank you and I will be returning often.

  10. Tatyana Says:

    I shouldn’t show these pictures to my boys. One of them, suddenly, started to ask to get a bunny. I keep saying that bunnies are not allowed in our neighborhood. If he sees your animals, he won’t believe me!

  11. Amelia Says:

    I saw a raccoon here in DC last night. Cute little thing!

  12. Georgia Says:

    Parrots in SF (as in the Wild Parrots of Telegraph Hill) and ducks (a neighbor keeps a flock).


Leave a Reply

