Greenwalks

Gardening where the sidewalk ends

Skywatch Friday – May 8, 2009 May 7, 2009

Filed under: fauna,sky,trees — greenwalks @ 7:41 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Bald eagle in flight

Bald eagle flying over Douglas Fir tree near Seattle, WA last week. There were two eagles, one was being harassed by a crow and the other was just cruising around in circles. They nest near my parents’ house and usually announce their arrival with what my dad calls a “scream.” Pretty dramatic, and always exciting to witness these magnificent creatures as they return from the brink of extinction.

Head on over here to see what else is going on in the skies the world over this week.

 

17 Responses to “Skywatch Friday – May 8, 2009”

  1. James Says:

    Wonderful capture. I would to see one for myself someday they truely are magnificent birds.

  2. Grace Says:

    Wow! Nice photo. Remember when we hardly ever saw a bald eagle? I’m so glad they’ve made a comeback.

  3. Aerie-el Says:

    Cool! I’ve yet to post a bunch of updated photos of the eagle family near us. I saw at least one eaglet, but there could be two, in the nest. I’ll try to get them on the blog for Skywatch Friday.
    They are such incredible creatures.

  4. jean Says:

    I just saw one of the eagles that nest near the 520 bridge. They just sit there staring down at us laughing as we sit in traffic. If you like bald eagles there is an amazing gathering of them in Brackendale on the way to Whistler, BC. I’m not sure what times of the year they are there but they number in the hundreds. It is an amazing sight.

    Aren’t we lucky to have them so close to home? Thanks for the picture.

  5. Guy D Says:

    Great shot Karen, thanks for sharing.

    Have a great weekend
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

  6. babooshka Says:

    Excellent composition

  7. Kanak Says:

    Loved the shot Karen. And thank you for stopping by my blog. I checked out the Skywatch photo on Flickr…so glad THAT works! Hope you have a great weekend.

  8. Jen Says:

    Great shot! Whenever I see something amazing like this I’m usually too transfixed to remember to get the camera! I’m on the lookout for a redtail hawk…

  9. Catherine Says:

    I still get excited when I see Bald Eagles. I always tell my daughter about when we were kids that they were almost extinct. Now we see them flying not too far from our neighborhood. There is always one resting on a light post as you cross the 520 bridge coming into Seattle. How lucky for you parents that they nest near them.

  10. Lavender Says:

    Congratulations on capturing a great photo of this amazing bird. I also am so glad that the Bald Eable is making a comeback.

  11. RainGardener Says:

    How exciting for you Karen and great shot of the magnificent bird.

  12. Georgia Says:

    Like a still from a wildlife documentary!

  13. Alicesg Says:

    Wonderful photo for SWF. Thanks for your comments in my blog. Have a nice weekend, Karen.

  14. Linda Says:

    Impressive shot. The tree alongside gives a good idea of scale.

  15. Gennasus Says:

    You are so lucky to be able to photograph these birds! I’d love to have them flying over here!!

  16. Matron Says:

    Great stuff! we don’t have bald eagles over here so it’s wonderful to see yours! what a thrill.

  17. Linnea Says:

    That is a dramatic shot…I’ve seen them a few times around Anacortes. They always take my breath away when I’m lucky enough to spot them! Thanks for visiting my sunny island in Washington! You’re right. The lighthouse is on the other side of the island. I took the shot from the beach in Skyline (western Anacortes). Enjoy the day!


Leave a Reply

